Brickyard 400 2013 Results: Reaction, Leaders and Post-Race Analysis

Donald Wood@@Donald_WoodFeatured ColumnistJuly 28, 2013

INDIANAPOLIS, IN - JULY 28:  Ryan Newman, driver of the #39 Quicken Loans/The Smurfs Chevrolet, and his daughter Brooklyn Sage kiss the bricks after winning the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Samuel Deeds 400 At The Brickyard at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on July 28, 2013 in Indianapolis, Indiana.  (Photo by Patrick Smith/Getty Images)
Patrick Smith/Getty Images

In another amazing race from the world-famous Indianapolis Motor Speedway, it was Ryan Newman and the No. 39 car that took the checkered flag and won the 2013 Brickyard 400.

Newman was able to hold off four-time Brickyard 400 winner Jimmie Johnson to grab the lead late in the race and hold it through the end. As an Indiana native, the hometown boy finally achieved his lifetime goal of winning at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.   

Hendrick Motorsports had another great showing as Johnson managed to finish second and Kasey Kahne took third. Newman’s car owner, Tony Stewart, finished fourth overall, and Matt Kenseth rounded out the top five.

After the race, Newman tweeted about his big win:

Full Brickyard 400 Results

PosDriverCar #MakeStarted
1Ryan Newman39Chevrolet1
2Jimmie Johnson48Chevrolet2
3Kasey Kahne5Chevrolet7
4Tony Stewart14Chevrolet5
5Matt Kenseth20Toyota13
6Dale Earnhardt Jr.88Chevrolet15
7Jeff Gordon24Chevrolet9
8Joey Logano22Ford11
9Juan Pablo Montoya42Chevrolet8
10Kyle Busch18Toyota19
11Martin Truex Jr.56Toyota38
12Paul Menard27Chevrolet23
13Carl Edwards99Ford3
14Kurt Busch78Chevrolet6
15Jamie McMurray1Chevrolet18
16Marcos Ambrose9Ford10
17Aric Almirola43Ford21
18Denny Hamlin11Toyota4
19Kevin Harvick29Chevrolet24
20Clint Bowyer15Toyota17
21Brad Keselowski2Ford12
22AJ Allmendinger51Chevrolet14
23Mark Martin55Toyota26
24Greg Biffle16Ford27
25Ricky Stenhouse Jr.17Ford25
26Austin Dillon33Chevrolet20
27Casey Mears13Ford30
28Trevor Bayne21Ford28
29David Reutimann83Toyota31
30Danica Patrick10Chevrolet33
31Travis Kvapil93Toyota22
32Michael McDowell98Ford35
33Landon Cassill140Chevrolet29
34David Ragan34Ford36
35David Gilliland38Ford42
36Bobby Labonte47Toyota34
37Dave Blaney7Chevrolet41
38Josh Wise35Ford32
39J.J. Yeley36Chevrolet39
40David Stremme30Toyota37
41Joe Nemechek87Toyota40
42Timmy Hill32Ford43
43Jeff Burton31Chevrolet16

*Visit for results and race times.


Newman won the pole for the 2013 Brickyard 400 with an impressive time of 187.531 (new track record) and came out flying when the green flag dropped on Sunday’s race.

Newman maintained the lead through the first 30 laps heading into green-flag pit stops, but the story early was Dale Earnhardt Jr. and his car’s loose wheel. The No. 88 was forced to the pit on Lap 12 because of a serious mistake and had to fight back from being a lap down.

After the first round of green-flag stops was over, Newman found himself in second place, trailing Jimmie Johnson. Johnson held the lead for most of the green-flag laps that dominated the majority of the race.

It wasn’t until Timmy Hill brought out the caution on Lap 59 that the field came back together. Despite a mad dash from Newman and Carl Edwards off the restart, Johnson once again maintained the lead and raced off to a comfortable margin.

The field spread out once again until Jeff Burton brought out the caution on Lap 81 and forced the teams back to another always-important restart. The Penske cars of Brad Keselowski and Joey Logano stayed out and exchanged the lead amongst themselves until the duo had to pit on Lap 97.

Johnson retook the lead, but green-flag pit stops and another caution on Lap 114 brought on by Hill’s car once again shuffled the leaderboard. It was Johnson who took the green flag and gained the lead with 40 laps to go.


The race once again reached green-flag pit stops with 30 laps left, and after a slow pit stop from Johnson, ultimately Newman came out in front of the field with Johnson in second. Nascar tweeted a terrific picture of Newman and his family on the bricks:


2013 Sprint Cup Standings

RankDriverPointsBehindStartsWinsTop 5Top 10DNFLapsLaps Led
1Jimmie Johnson740-204914057001093
2Clint Bowyer6657520071115691115
3Carl Edwards6558520161005667214
4Kevin Harvick648922025112541136
5Dale Earnhardt Jr.6161242004112549092
6Matt Kenseth61512520451135298994
7Kyle Busch610130202912352971037
8Greg Biffle565175201370546187
9Kasey Kahne5641762016835383400
10Jeff Gordon5591812004855336144
11Tony Stewart5581822015705584111
12Martin Truex Jr.5541862014825377246

*Complete standings found at


After one of the wildest races of the year, the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series moves into the heart of the season as it travels to Pocono Speedway for the 400. The next race will take place Aug. 4 at 1:19 p.m. ET and will be televised on ESPN.

Jeff Gordon was the 2012 race champion.