The Best Coach in the History of Every ACC Basketball Team

« Prev
1 of 16
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
The Best Coach in the History of Every ACC Basketball Team

What sport comes to mind first when you think of the Atlantic Coast Conference?

If you are like me, men’s college basketball is the immediate answer. The ACC has a rich and renowned history for excellent hoops action.

One of the reasons for this longstanding success is the quality of head coaches who have led these programs. Some of the best coaches of all time have prowled the sidelines for these schools.

Here is a quick look at the best coaches in the history of each of the current 15 ACC members. Because we will consider the entire coaching histories of these schools, some of the men on this list coached in the times before the colleges and universities entered the conference.

For example, Duke entered the ACC in 1953. It's possible that the best Blue Devils' coach was back in their Southern Conference days (Yeah, right!).

In some cases, the men on this list were not the longest-tenured coaches or those who have the most wins.

We will, of course, look at total wins, but we will also consider average wins per season, postseason success and more to select the best at each school.

The coaches on this list represent three of the four all-time winningest coaches. They have won nine NCAA championships

Let's go!


Coaches information comes from



Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

ACC Basketball

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.