No 'Winner Takes All' System For 2010

Ryan WoodAnalyst IMay 8, 2009

NORTHAMPTON, UNITED KINGDOM - JULY 04:  Former F1 World Champion and President of the British Racing Drivers Club Damon Hill, is seen outside the FIA motorhome following practice for the British Formula One Grand Prix at Silverstone on July 4, 2008 in Northampton, England.  (Photo by Mark Thompson/Getty Images)


There was talk last week, when the regulations for 2010 were released by the FIA that the medals system had been slipped back in under the radar. A system Bernie Ecclestone supports, and wants implemented in 2010.

Ecclestone almost had his way in 2009, when the FIA passed the new system, but had to withdraw it after several complaints from FOTA, and their own rules which stated new rules could not be announced just 30 days before the start of the season.

So, 2010, it looked like Ecclestone and the FIA had managed to get the new 'winner takes-all' system into the new regulations. However, it has now been removed from the 2010 regulations.

The new regulations, which have now been re-published now say: "The Formula One World Championship driver’s title will be awarded to the driver who has scored the highest number of points, taking into consideration all the results obtained during the Events which have actually taken place."

So the system we are used to has been reinstated. This is after FOTA notified FIA race director Charlie Whiting about the new regulation, which would have seen Felipe Massa win in 2008. The FIA have admitted that this was simply a mistake made in the regulations for 2010 published after the April 29th meeting.

It has now been rectified, although it could make a return if Bernie has his way.

Ryan Wood