Best Candidates Named to 2013 Ray Guy and Lou Groza Award Watch Lists

« Prev
1 of 9
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Best Candidates Named to 2013 Ray Guy and Lou Groza Award Watch Lists
Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

Special teams players are a lot like attorneys—they aren't appreciated until you really need one. Kickers and punters are treated like outcasts by fans, but having an elite kicker can determine how the season turns out. How many games have been decided by the outcome of a field goal?

Too many.

The Ray Guy Award is presented each year to the top punter in college football. Since two-time winner Ryan Allen is now in the NFL, another punter will have a chance to win it this year. Augusta Sports Council has released the watch list, which includes 25 punters from across the country.

The Lou Groza Award has been awarded to the best kicker since 1992. Tulane's Cairo Santos has a chance to win the award for a second consecutive season. There will be plenty of competition with 10 semifinalists returning this season. The watch list for the Lou Groza is full of experienced kickers.

Almost anybody can win this award, it's just a matter of who gets hot. However, much of the competition comes from players who play on mediocre teams.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

College Football

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.