2013 Tour de France

Tour De France 2013 Results: Mark Cavendish Proves He's Still Top Sprinter

MARSEILLE, FRANCE - JULY 03: Mark Cavendish of Great Britain and Team Omega Pharma-Quick Step celebrates his win at the end of stage five of the 2013 Tour de France, a 228.5KM road stage from Cagnes-sur-mer to Marseille, on July 3, 2013 in Marseille, France.  (Photo by Bryn Lennon/Getty Images)
Bryn Lennon/Getty Images
Tim KeeneyContributor IJuly 3, 2013

If there was ever any question as to whether or not Mark Cavendish was still the best sprinter in the world, he answered in resounding fashion on Wednesday. 

Stage 5 of the Tour de France took riders from Cagnes-sur-Mer to Marseille, and although it stretched out to a healthy 228.5 km and contained a few slight climbs, the overall profile was flat and a sprint was expected at the end. 

Usually that is easy money for "Cav," who entered the day with 23 Tour de France stage wins and the 2011 points classification title, but for a while, this year was beginning to feel a little different. 

After suffering a disappointing crash in a winnable first stage, Cavendish struggled on the next two mountain stages and came up just short in his effort to help teammate Michael Kwiatkowski into the yellow jacket during Tuesday's team time trial. 

Throw in his current bout with bronchitis, and the outlook certainly wasn't optimistic. 

All of that just makes his dominant Stage 5 victory all the more impressive.

Timing his final sprint to perfection, Cavendish raced from the pack on the final straightaway and cruised to a win by a bike length, per the Tour de France's Twitter:

Last year's points winner Peter Sagan still holds the green jacket by a comfortable margin (111 points to Cavendish's 76), but the Manx Missile reminded us all on Wednesday that when there's a straightaway, you can't bet against him.

All other factors aside, no one in this sport is faster than Cav

Here's a look at the updated results and standings.


Stage 5 Results

Note: A complete look at the individual time classification from Stage 5 can be found here at LeTour.com

Rank Rider Team Rider No. Time (Gap)
2 BOASSON HAGEN Edvald SKY PROCYCLING 2 05H 31' 51" (00' 00")
3 SAGAN Peter CANNONDALE 11 05H 31' 51" (00' 00")
4 GREIIPEL Andre LOTTO-BELISOL 24 05H 31' 51" (00' 00")
5 KRISTOFF Alexander KATUSHA TEAM 103 05H 31' 51" (00' 00")
6 FERRARI Roberto LAMPRE-MERIDA 145 05H 31' 51" (00' 00")
7 LOBATO DEL VALLE Juan Jose EUSKALTEL-EUSKADI 115 05H 31' 51" (00' 00")
8 NAVARDAUSKAS Ramunas GARMIN-SHARP 177 05H 31' 51" (00' 00")
9 LEMOINE Cyril SOJASUN 215 05H 31' 51" (00' 00")
10 ROJAS Jose Joaquin MOVISTAR TEAM 129 05H 31' 51" (00' 00")


Individual Standings

Note: A complete look at the overall individual time classification can be found here at LeTour.com

Rank Rider Team Rider No. Time (Gap)
1 GERRANS Simon ORICA GREENEDGE 181 18H 19' 15"
2 IMPEY Daryl ORICA GREENEDGE 185 18H 19' 15" (00' 00")
3 ALBASINI Michael ORICA GREENEDGE 182 18H 19' 15" (00' 00")
153 18H 19' 16" (00' 01")
152 18H 19' 16" (00' 01")
2 18H 19' 18" (00' 03")
7 FROOME Christopher SKY
1 18H 19' 18" (00' 03")
8 PORTE Richie SKY
6 18H 19' 18" (00' 03")

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices