Fernando Torres Scores 4 for Spain but Watch his Missed Penalty and GK Reaction
Fernando Torres was the hot-shot of the night in the FIFA Confederations Cup at the Maracana Stadium as Spain racked up a 10-0 victory over Tahiti, with the No. 9 scoring four goals himself.
Torres opened the scoring after just four minutes and added further strikes on 32, 57 and 78 minutes, taking his personal tally to 35 international goals in 103 caps for Spain. However Torres also caused a big talking point when he took a penalty kick with the score at 8-0—and contrived to smack his effort onto the crossbar and over.
The rest of the goals were added by David Villa, who netted a hat trick, a brace from David Silva and a Juan Mata strike.
Tahiti didn't get the goal they were looking for against the reigning World and European champions, but they left the Maracana pitch to a memorable ovation and resounding applause from all corners.
They might not enjoy looking back on some of the goals conceded, especially goalkeeper Mickael Roche—but the former Monaco reserve goalkeeper did have one moment in particular to recall, and he certainly milked the occasion for all it was worth.
A cross from Jesús Navas on the right flank was adjudged to have been handled by the referee, and Fernando Torres demanded to take the spot kick as he looked for his fourth goal of the match. His effort was high and hard—and struck the bar before flying over.
Roche was quickly up to take the acclaim for the failure to convert, pointing to the heavens and taking the applause from the crowd—though he didn't get too close to the shot itself. The 8-0 scoreline didn't really take on too much significance at that particular moment.
Roche did make several other impressive stops, notably from a David Villa free kick, and for Torres' part, he did claim his fourth goal just a minute later, the penultimate goal of the game.
Torres scored a hat trick in the last Confederations Cup against New Zealand, and he's repeated the trick now against Tahiti. Only a small lingering regret might remain that he failed to net from the penalty spot once more.
What is the duplicate article?
Why is this article offensive?
Where is this article plagiarized from?
Why is this article poorly edited?