FIA Rubber Stamps "Winner Takes All"

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
FIA Rubber Stamps
(Photo illustration by Mark Thompson/Getty Images)

The controversial Winner Takes All system has been rubber stamped for 2010 by the FIA World Motorsport Council.

The system was first hinted at by Bernie Ecclestone mid-2008 and was immediately slammed by spectators and teams with both arguing that the season could be over by the mid-way point.

The change was voted against by the Formula One Teams Association (FOTA) for this season after Ecclestone pushed for it, but the sporting regulations for next year already feature the new system.

Article 6 of the sporting regulations state that the drivers' title "will be awarded to the driver who has been classified first in the greatest number of races."

Full Details at The F1 Times Site.

Follow B/R on Facebook

Formula 1

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.