NHLDownload App

NHL Awards Ceremony 2013: Date, Start Time, Candidates and Predictions

BOSTON, MA - JUNE 07: Sidney Crosby #87 of the Pittsburgh Penguins looks on in the second period against the Boston Bruins in Game Four of the Eastern Conference Final during the 2013 NHL Stanley Cup Playoffs at the TD Garden on June 7, 2013 in Boston, United States.  (Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images)
Bruce Bennett/Getty Images
Timothy RappFeatured Columnist IVNovember 20, 2016

The Stanley Cup Final may be dominating the hockey headlines this week, but it isn't the only major event on the NHL's schedule, as the league's awards will be handed out on Friday and Saturday evenings.

Will Sidney Crosby clean up after his incredible season that saw him finish near the top of multiple statistical categories despite missing 12 games? Will the Chicago Blackhawks win several awards after finishing with a league-best 77 points in the regular season? Who may prove to be a surprise winner?

The only way to find out is to watch. Below, you'll find all the information you need on the two ceremonies, including a few predictions of my own.


When: Friday, June 14, at 5 p.m. ET (Masterton, Selke, King Clancy and Lady Byng trophies, Jack Adams Award, Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award, NHL Foundation Player Award, NHL General Manager of the Year Award)

 Saturday, June 15, at 7 p.m. ET (Hart, Calder, Norris, Vezina,Ted Lindsay Award)


Watch: Friday's awards ceremony will be broadcast on the NHL Network, while Saturday's ceremony will be on the NBC Sports Network.


Awards and Candidates

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (Perseverance and Dedication to Hockey)

Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins

Josh Harding, Minnesota Wild

Adam McQuaid, Boston Bruins


Calder Memorial Trophy (Rookie of the Year)

Brendan Gallagher, Montreal Canadiens

Jonathan Huberdeau, Florida Panthers

Brandon Saad, Chicago Blackhawks


Frank J. Selke Trophy (Top Defensive Forward)

Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins

Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings

Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks


Hart Memorial Trophy (MVP)

Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins

Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

John Tavares, New York Islanders


Jack Adams Award (Top Head Coach)

Bruce Boudreau, Anaheim Ducks

Paul MacLean, Ottawa Senators

Joel Quenneville, Chicago Blackhawks


James Norris Memorial Trophy (Top Defenseman)

Kris Letang, Pittsburgh Penguins

P.K. Subban, Montreal Canadiens

Ryan Suter, Minnesota Wild


Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (Sportsmanship)

Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks

Matt Moulson, New York Islanders

Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning


Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award Presented by Bridgestone

Daniel Alfredsson, Ottawa Senators

Dustin Brown, Los Angeles Kings

Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks


NHL General Manager of the Year Award

Marc Bergevin, Montreal Canadiens

Bob Murray, Anaheim Ducks

Ray Shero, Pittsburgh Penguins


Ted Lindsay Award (Most Outstanding Player, According to the Players)

Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins

Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning


Vezina Trophy (Top Goalie)

Sergei Bobrovsky, Columbus Blue Jackets

Henrik Lundqvist, New York Rangers

Antti Niemi, San Jose Sharks



I have to give Crosby the MVP. He was tied for third in the NHL in points (56), fourth in plus-minus (plus-26) and second in assists (41) despite missing 12 games this season. He helped lead the Penguins to the No. 1 seed in the Eastern Conference as a result. 

For as good as Ovechkin and Tavares were this season, there wasn't a better "per game" player in the NHL this season than Crosby. Don't be surprised if he wins the Ted Lindsay award as well. 

Gallagher will take home the Calder Memorial. Amongst rookies, Gallagher finished second in goal, fourth in points, and finished with a nice plus-minus of plus-10, helping the Canadiens on both ends of the ice.

Bobrovsky has to be the choice for Vezina. While he didn't have as many starts or wins as Lundqvist or Niemi, he had a superior goals-against average (2.00) and save percentage (.932 ) and nearly led the Blue Jackets to the playoffs after going 21-11-6 as the starter. 

Kris Letang accumulated 38 points in just 35 games for the Penguins, boasting a plus-minus of plus-16—he's my choice for the James Norris Memorial.

Meanwhile, you could argue Toews was snubbed by being left out as an MVP finalist after finishing with 48 points and ranking third in the NHL in plus-minus (plus-28). He'll take home the Frank J. Selke and Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award. 

I would guess Quenneville will win the Jack Adams Award after leading the Blackhawks to a whopping 77 points (36 wins in 48 games), while Bergevin will be named top NHL general manager after the Canadiens went from last in the Northeast Division a year ago to first this season. 

Those are my predictions. Be sure to leave your own in the comments.


Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices