Belmont Stakes 2013 Results: How Every Horse Finished Final Leg of Triple Crown

Jesse ReedCorrespondent IJune 11, 2013

ELMONT, NY - JUNE 08:  Palace Malice #12 ridden by Mike Smith wins the 145th running of the Belmont Stakes followed by Oxbow #7 Ridden by Gary Stevens and and Orb #5 ridden by Joel Rosario at Belmont Park on June 8, 2013 in Elmont, New York.  (Photo by Al Bello/Getty Images)
Al Bello/Getty Images

Palace Malice shocked a loaded 14-horse field to win the 2013 Belmont Stakes, using an incredible final kick down the home stretch to beat the field by a comfortable margin.

Preakness winner Oxbow finished in second place, well behind Palace Malice, and Orb finished even further back in third place, as detailed by The Downey Profile:

The race got off to a quick start, with Frac Daddy and Freedom Child setting the early pace. Oxbow was pushing to stay close to the front from the start, while Palace Malice stayed in the middle and Orb laid low at the back of the pack. 

At one point, Oxbow took the lead, with Palace Malice trailing not too far behind. It wasn't until the horses rounded the third turn and headed toward the final bend that jockey Joel Rosario let Orb loose on the outside.

In the end, Rosario and Orb started their final push a little too late, and Oxbow didn't have the stamina to keep up the torrid pace. Palace Malice blasted past the field, rounding the final turn and kicked it into high gear on the home stretch, winning with plenty of room to spare.

Here are the final results of the 14-horse field.

2013 Belmont Stakes Results         
Pos Horse Jockey  Trainer 


1 Palace Malice Mike Smith  Todd Pletcher


$29.60 (Win)
$11.20 (Place)
$6.20 (Show) 
2 Oxbow Gary Stevens D. Wayne Lukas 7 $9.90 (Place)
$6.10 (Show) 
3  Orb
Joel Rosario Shug McGaughey  5 $3.90 (Show)
4 Incognito Irad Ortiz Jr. Kiaran McLaughlin
5 Revolutionary  Javier Castellano 
Todd Pletcher  9  
6 Unlimited Budget Rosie Napravnik Todd Pletcher 13  
7 Overanalyze John Velazquez
Todd Pletcher 3  
8 Vyjack Julien Leparoux
Rudy Rodriguez 11  
9 Golden Soul Robby Albarado  Dallas Stewart  14  
10 Will Take Charge Jon Court D. Wayne Lukas 10  
11 Giant Finish Edgar Prado Anthony Dutrow 4  
12 Midnight Taboo Garrett Gomez Todd Pletcher 8  
13 Freedom Child Luis Saez Tom Albertrani
14 Frac Daddy Alan Garcia
Ken McPeek 1  

*Odds based on $2 bet, courtesy the NBC Sports broadcast.


Revolutionary disappointed with a fifth-place finish. At the start of the race, oddsmakers had Revolutionary as a 5-1 favorite to win the race, right behind 2-1 heavy favorite Orb.

After having won a couple of impressive races before the Derby—including the Louisiana Derby (Grade 1)—Revolutionary posted a respectable third-place finish at Churchill Downs. The horse was thought to be suited for the long run at Belmont Park, but in the end it didn't have enough speed to keep up with the top horses in the field.

According to WinStar Farms president Elliott Walden (via DRF's Jay Privman), Revolutionary will not race again in 2013:

Oxbow and Orb both proved to have excellent stamina and speed, but after having participated in both previous Triple Crown events, they couldn't match the fresh-legged Palace Malice. 

Todd Pletcher held Palace Malice—along with some of his other horses—out of the Preakness with the goal of featuring fresh horses at Belmont. His strategy paid off, and in the end it was Palace Malice's fresh legs that proved to be the difference.

Jockey Mike Smith won his second Belmont Stakes atop Palace Malice, as did Pletcher.


Follow me on Twitter @JesseReed78