WWE: The Top 10 Cumulative Longest-Reigning WCW Cruiserweight Champions

« Prev
1 of 12
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
WWE: The Top 10 Cumulative Longest-Reigning WCW Cruiserweight Champions
(photo courtesy of wrestlingforum.com)

The WCW Cruiserweight Championship helped to re-establish lightweight professional wrestling in the United States during the mid-1990s.

Many legends in pro wrestling won the coveted championship. It was introduced in 1996 and became part of WWE when WCW was purchased on March 23, 2001. Shane Helms is the last recognized WCW Cruiserweight Champion before the WWE buyout.

The very first WCW Cruiserweight Champion was Japanese pro wrestler Shinjiro Otani who defeated “Wild Pegasus” Chris Benoit in New Japan Pro Wrestling. The match was aired on April 5, 1996.

Many cruiserweight pro wrestlers would go on to not only find continued success in WCW but also in WWE. It is worth going back and watching some of these older matches in order to grasp how much of an impact they had on professional wrestling.

Former WCW Executive Producer and President, Eric Bischoff states in his book, Controversy Creates Ca$h that cruiserweights helped to give WCW an “international feel” and “had a lot to do with the continued success of Nitro” (201-202).

The cruiserweight championship changed hands quite frequently in WCW, but it helped to make these superstars household names during the Monday Night Wars.

The Internet Wrestling Database was invaluable in providing statistics for this article and also the DDT Digest for their incredible history of WCW. 

Begin Slideshow »
Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.