Tim Brown Leads College Football Hall Of Fame Inductees

Tony GuadagnoliContributor IApril 30, 2009

SOUTH BEND -1987:  Tim Brown #81 of Notre Dame Fighting Irish waits for the snap during a game in the 1987 season in South Bend, Indiana.  ( Photo by: Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images)

Heisman Trophy winners Tim Brown and Gino Torretta are among 16 former players and two coaches elected to the College Football Hall of Fame on Thursday.

Brown, 42, won the 1987 Heisman Trophy at Notre Dame, as a wide receiver. The two-time first team All-American set 19 Notre Dame records. He is fourth in NFL history with 1,094 receptions.

Torretta, 38, won the 1992 Heisman after leading the Miami Hurricanes to a national championship. He played briefly in the NFL, throwing 16 career passes, and now works as a manager of institutional sales for Gamco Investors Inc. in Miami.

Also elected were: Pervis Atkins, HB, New Mexico State (1958-60); Chuck Cecil, DB, Arizona (1984-87); Ed Dyas, FB, Auburn (1958-60); Major Harris, QB, West Virginia, (1987-89); Gordon Hudson, TE, Brigham Young (1980- 83); William Lewis, C, Harvard (1892-93); Woodrow Lowe, LB, Alabama (1972-75); Ken Margerum, WR< Stanford (1977-80); Steve Mitchell, DT, Texas (1976-79); Chris Spielman, LB, Ohio State (1984-87); Larry Station, LB, Iowa (1982-85); Pat Swilling, DE, Georgia Tech (1982-85); Curt Warner, RB, Penn State (1979-82); Grant Wistrom,  DE, Nebraska (1994-97) and coaches Dick MacPherson, Syracuse 111-73-5 (.601) - Massachusetts (1971-77), Syracuse (1981-90) and John Robinson, 132-77-4 (.629) - USC (1976-82, 1993-97), Nevada-Las Vegas (1999-2004).

  • In addition to the two Heisman Trophy winners, the class represents seven unanimous First Team All-Americans (Brown, Hudson, McMichael, Spielman, Station, Torretta, Wistrom);  five consensus First Team All-Americans (Cecil, Lowe, Margerum, Spielman, Station); seven multiple-year First Team All-America honorees (Brown - 2, Hudson - 2, Lowe - 3, Margerum - 2, Spielman - 2, Station - 2, Wistrom - 2
  • The class will be inducted at the National Football Foundation awards dinner in New York Dec. 8. They will officially be enshrined at the Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind., in summer 2010
  • For more info: National Football Foundation.