2013 Preakness StakesDownload App

Preakness 2013 Replay: Video Highlights of Oxbow's Win

May 18, 2013; Baltimore, MA, USA; Gary Stevens aboard Oxbow (black) wins the 138th running of the Preakness Stakes as John Velazquez aboard Itsmyluckyday (pink and blue) finishes second at Pimlico race course. Mandatory Credit: Mitch Stringer-USA TODAY Sports
Paul Frederiksen-USA TODAY Sport
Alex BallentineFeatured ColumnistMay 18, 2013

Oxbow's win at the 2013 Preakness may have ruined any chance of a Triple Crown winner this year, but it was still an amazing display that horse racing fans won't soon forget.

The 15-1 long shot took the lead out of the gate and never surrendered it, staving off Itsmyluckyday and Mylute, who finished second and third, respectively.

According to Yahoo! Sports, it was the first time that a horse has been a wire-to-wire winner of the Preakness in 31 years.

CBS Sports' Andrew DeWitt tweeted out Oxbow trainer D. Wayne Lukas' and rock star Gene Simmons' reaction to Oxbow's victory. Needless to say, it was a huge day for Oxbow, who faced the second-longest odds of any horse in the field.

As you can see in the replay, Kentucky Derby winner Orb never had a chance of winning. Starting from the No. 1 post, he was boxed in early on and was never able to get off the rail, effectively ruining his chance at winning the ever-elusive Triple Crown.

Here's a full breakdown of where each horse finished:

Pos. Horse Jockey Trainer Post
1 Oxbow  Gary Stevens  D. Wayne Lukas  6
2 Itsmyluckyday  John Velazquez  Eddie Plesa Jr.  9
3 Mylute Rosie Napravnik Tom Amoss 5
4 Orb Joel Rosario Claude McGaughey 1
5 Goldencents Kevin Krigger Doug O'Neill 2
6 Departing Brian Hernandez Jr. Albert M. Stall Jr. 4
7 Will Take Charge Mike Smith D. Wayne Lukas 7
8 Govenor Charlie Martin Garcia Bob Baffert 8
9 Titletown Five Julien Leparoux D. Wayne Lukas 3

Although heavy favorite Orb failed to land in the money, this was still an exciting race and a true show of dominance from a horse that had been counted out by just about everyone.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices