Preakness 2013 Video: Highlights, Analysis and Earnings for Every Horse

Maxwell OgdenCorrespondent IIIMay 18, 2013

BALTIMORE, MD - MAY 18:  Gary Stevens celebrates atop of Oxbow #6 as he crosses the finish line to win the 138th running of the Preakness Stakes at Pimlico Race Course on May 18, 2013 in Baltimore, Maryland.  (Photo by Justin Heiman/Getty Images)
Justin Heiman/Getty Images

The 2013 Preakness Stakes is in the books, and Oxbow won the prestigious event in stunning fashion.

Oxbow, led by jockey Gary Stevens and trainer D. Wayne Lukas, started from the No. 6 post and got off to a strong start. Surprisingly, Oxbow did not falter down the stretch, leading the race from the start and holding that advantage throughout.

Even with Itsmyluckyday's best efforts, Oxbow managed to hold on.

It was a legendary victory for all parties involved.

With the win, Stevens won his third career Preakness Stakes event after conquering Pimlico Race Course in 1997 and 2001. This is the third time that Stevens has completed the career Triple Crown, as he's won the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes three times each.

Nine collective victories in horse racing's prestigious event improves Stevens' status as one of the greatest jockeys to ever ride.

As for Lukas, the legendary trainer now owns six victories at the Preakness Stakes. This is the first time he's won at Pimlico since 1999, though, which suggests that his status amongst the greats has improved, as well.

So how did it all play out at the Preakness Stakes?

Place Horse Jockey Trainer Earnings
1 Oxbow Gary Stevens D. Wayne Lukas $620,000
2 Itsmyluckyday John Velazquez Eddie Plesa Jr. $200,000
3 Mylute Rosie Napravnik Tom Amoss $100,00
4 Orb Joel Rosario Claude R. McGaughey $50,000
5 Goldencents Kevin Krigger Doug O'Neill $30,000
6 Departing Brian Hernandez, Jr. Albert M. Stall Jr. N/A
7 Will Take Charge Mike Smith D. Wayne Lukas N/A
8 Govenor Charlie Martin Garcia Bob Baffert N/A
9 Titletown Five Julien Leparoux Eddie Plesa Jr. N/A

Earnings via America's Best Racing.

Perhaps no story is as captivating leaving this race as the fact that Orb fell short in his bid to win the second leg of the Triple Crown. As inspiring as his Kentucky Derby win may have been, this comes with disappointment and underlying expectancy.

No horse has won the Triple Crown since Affirmed in 1978.

The 35-year dry spell continues.

With Orb's defeat, however, comes Oxbow's leap into the ranks of the elite. With a decorated trainer and jockey working with him, Oxbow has proved to be a force to be reckoned with as we approach the 2013 Belmont Stakes.

For what it's worth, both Stevens and Lukas have won multiple races at Belmont Park.

One of the more disappointing finishes belonged to Govenor Charlie, who reunited jockey Martin Garcia with Bob Baffert. The duo won the 2010 Preakness Stakes with Lookin At Lucky but finished in eighth place this year.

The term underwhelming is an understatement.

Fortunately, there were pleasant surprises, such as Oxbow winning and Mylute coming in third. Jockey Rosie Napravnik failed to become the first female winner at the Preakness Stakes but still displayed her upside.

The 25-year-old has a bright future.

With that being said, it all comes back to Oxbow, who shocked the world to win big. Oxbow won in dominant fashion, overcoming the odds and reminding us why the legends will always reign supreme.

It was a marvelous achievement for a deserving group.