Triple Crown Winners: Power Ranking Horse Racing's Elite

« Prev
1 of 12
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
 Triple Crown Winners: Power Ranking Horse Racing's Elite
Anthony Gruppuso-USA TODAY Sports
The great Secretariat is widely considered to be the best thoroughbred in horse racing history.

Horse racing may no longer have the command over the sporting world that it did in previous generations, but the allure of the Triple Crown keeps sports fans coming back to the sport.

There is a magic that goes with the sport's three jewels. Even casual racing fans want nothing more than to see a horse command victories in the Kentucky Derby, Preakness and Belmont Stakes.

The Triple Crown has been won just 11 times in horse racing history, and no horse has pulled off the feat since Affirmed did it in 1978.

Training and riding methods have improved with each generation, and the tendency to rank the modern horses higher than the older ones is logical. However, the great horses of the past should not be ignored.

Here's our ranking of the 11 Triple Crown winners.

Additional historical perspective is provided by Washington Post horse racing columnist Andrew Beyer.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

Horse Racing

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.