IndyCar SeriesDownload App

Indy 500: Lazier, Duno, and Philippe Confirmed to Entry List

LAS VEGAS - SEPTEMBER 22:  Buddy Lazier driver of the #15 Flanders Beef Patties Chevrolet Silverado looks on during qualifying for the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series Smith's Las Vegas 350 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway September 22, 2007 in Las Vegas, Nevada.  (Photo by Jeff Gross/Getty Images)
Richard DeveauCorrespondent IApril 29, 2009

As the month of May comes closer and closer, question marks on the Indianapolis 500 entry list are starting to disappear.

Three new drivers have been confirmed: American Buddy Lazier, Venezuelan Milka Duno, and Frenchman Nelson Phillippe.

Lazier, who will drive the No. 91 Hemelgarn Johnson entry, becomes the fifth former Indy winner after drinking the milk in 1996. He joins a list including Helio Castroneves, Scott Dixon, Dario Franchitti, and Dan Wheldon.

The Vail, Colo. native will attempt to make his 17th career start at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Last year, the 2000 Indycar Series champion finished 17th.

Duno, driving the No. 23 CITGO/Dreyer and Reinbold entry, will be attempting her third Indy start. Her best Indy finish was recorded last year, finishing 19th.

Nelson Philippe, the former Champcar driver, will be joining EJ Viso at HVM Racing for his first career Indycar start.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices