Detroit Red WingsDownload App

NHL Playoffs: How About an Original Six Cup Final?

The Captain -Brian KatesSenior Analyst IApril 6, 2008

The Detroit Red Wings in the West, the New York Rangers, Montreal Canadiens and Boston Bruins in the East. The last four remaining teams of the “Original Six” to go after Lord Stanley’s Cup this season.

The “Original Six”, comprised of the four teams named above as well as the Chicago Blackhawks and Toronto Maple Leafs. All were founded in the early 1900s to 1926. Other teams played a part in the founding of the NHL but had to disband because of the Great Depression and World War II. From the 1942-43 season to the expansion in 1967, this was it for hockey fans for 25 years. 

Out of the six, four teams made it to the playoffs. The winner of the two series would then play a best-of-seven series to determine the Stanley Cup Champion. Montreal made it to every series and Detroit and Toronto only missed out three times.

Could this be the year that the “Original Six” comes back to life? 

The last time two of the originals met for the Cup finals was in the 1978-79 season when the Canadiens beat the Rangers 4-1 under the leadership of Scotty Bowman. Bowman has won a record nine Stanley Cups as coach of the Canadiens, Red Wings and Pittsburgh Penguins. He has also won the Jack Adams award for coaching twice in his stellar career. 

So, let’s give it up to the “Original Six”. Like The Beatles were to the world of Rock ‘N’ Roll music, without the undying devotion to hockey, the NHL might not be around today, if it had not been for the "Original Six".

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices