Kyle Busch Finally Gets a Victory in the Nationwide Series

Samuel SicaAnalyst IApril 5, 2008

The O'Reilly 300 at Texas Motor Speedway turned out to be a dominating performance by Kyle Busch. Busch started from the 31st position because qualifying was cancelled due to rain. This set the field by the 2008 owner points. Busch ended up leading 126 laps before winning his first nationwide series race of the year. 

Since the field was set by the 2008 owner points, Kevin Harvick started from the pole with Clint Bowyer along side in second. The field consisted of 16 Sprint Cup drivers with 9 starting in the top ten. Harvick led the first 53 laps of the race until green flag pit stops took place. As Harvick left his pit box he felt something break, and sure enough, it was the left rear axle. Harvick would go behind the wall and lose 21 laps to the leaders before returning to the race. Harvick would end up finishing in the 34th position. 

With Harvick having problems during his pit stop the lead went to Tony Stewart. Unfortunately for Stewart, a right rear tire going down would cause him to come down pit road on lap 71 to change tires. This allowed Kyle Busch to take the lead for the first time during the race. 

Busch would lead the race until the caution came out on lap 92 for debris. During the caution the leaders all came down pit road for fresh tires and fuel with Busch leading them off as the leader. 

The race stayed green until lap 156 when Kyle Krisiloff spun off turn two after another round of green flag pit stops. Busch continued to lead late in the race until another caution came out for a wreck by Krisiloff on the backstretch with 11 laps to go. Busch, Burton, and Ragan stayed out under the caution but the remainder of the field came to pit road for fresh tires. 

Busch led the restart with 8 laps to go and proved that fresh tires were no match for him. Busch ran away from the field as he took the checkered flag on old tires. The win was a long time coming for Busch who has had terrible luck so far this season.

The top ten finishers were Busch, Burton, Bowyer, Bobby Labonte, McMurray, Vickers, Earnhardt Jr., Ragan, Leffler, and Stewart. Jason Leffler was the only non sprint cup driver to finish in the top ten. Some other notable finisher's were Jason Keller in 12th position and Carl Edwards in 13th.

Texas is now in the history books and we can all look forward to a great race in Phoenix next week.