Kentucky Derby Post Time and TV Schedule for Saturday's Race

Ryan DavenportContributor IMay 4, 2013

LOUISVILLE, KY - MAY 03:  Horses walk in the stable as the sun rises during morning workouts for the 2013 Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs on May 3, 2013 in Louisville, Kentucky.  (Photo by Jamie Squire/Getty Images)
Jamie Squire/Getty Images

The wait is nearly over. 

On Saturday, the 139th running of the Kentucky Derby will take place at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky. 

This year's edition of the first leg of the US Triple Crown features a field that is without a clear No. 1 favorite, as both Verrazano and Orb are pegged (via Yahoo! Sports) to be the top contenders for the title at 4-1 odds. 

But there are a number of other horses who appear capable of coming away with a victory on Saturday, in what should be one of the most exciting Kentucky Derby races in recent memory. 

It's also worth mentioning that, as of Friday morning, Black Onyx has been scratched (via, and the field for the Derby will remain at 19. 

Here's a look at the post positions and TV schedule in preparation for Saturday's race. 


TV Schedule (all times E.T.) 

Saturday, May 4th, 2013 

Pre-Race Coverage: 11 a.m.- 4 p.m. on NBC Sports Network (check local listings) 

Race Coverage: 4 p.m.-7 p.m. on NBC 

Post-Race Coverage: 7 p.m.- 7:30 p.m. on NBC Sports Network (check local listings) 


Post Positions

Post Time: 6:24 p.m. ET 

Post Horse Jockey Trainer Odds
1 Black Onyx
Joe Bravo
Kelly Breen
2  Oxbow
Gary Stevens
D. Wayne Lukas
3 Revolutionary  Calvin Borel  Todd Pletcher
4 Golden Soul Robby Albarado  Dallas Stewart  50-1
5 Normandy Invasion
Javier Castellano
Chad Brown
6 Mylute
Rosie Napravnik
Tom Amoss
7 Giant Finish Jose L. Espinoza  Anthony W. Dutrow  50-1
8 Goldencents  Kevin Krigger  Doug O'Neill  5-1
9 Overanalyze  Rafael Bejarano  Todd Pletcher  15-1
10 Palace Malice  Mike Smith  Todd Pletcher  20-1
11 Lines of Battle  Ryan Moore  Aidan O'Brien  30-1
12 Itsmyluckyday  Elvis Trujillo Eddie Plesa Jr.  15-1
13 Falling Sky  Luis Saez  John Terranova II  50-1
14 Verrazano
John R. Velazquez
Todd Pletcher
15 Charming Kitten
Edgar Prado
Todd Pletcher
16 Orb Joel Rosario
Claude R. McGaughey III
17 Will Take Charge Jon Court
D. Wayne Lukas
18 Frac Daddy Victor Lebron  Kenny McPeek
19 Java's War  Julien Leparoux  Kenny McPeek  15-1
20 Vyjack Garrett Gomez
Rudy Rodriguez



*Odds via, current as of Thursday, May 2 at 7 a.m. ET