2008 NHL Playoffs: Another Presidential Victory For Detroit!

The Captain -Brian KatesSenior Analyst IApril 4, 2008

Not only did the Detroit Red Wings win Thursday night and not only did they come from behind to win with a last second goal by Henrik Zetterberg, but they also came away with the 2007-08 President's Trophy.

The President's Trophy is awarded to the NHL team which finishes with the most points in the league during the regular season. Detroit has accomplished this feat three times since they last won the Stanley Cup in the 2001-02 season and six times since it was first awarded to the Edmonton Oiler back during the 1985-86 season.

In the 81 games that the Red Wings have played so far this year, they have won 53 times and accumulated 113 points. Their final game is this Sunday against the Chicago Blackhawks who beat them Wednesday night 6-2. The Wings can end the season with 115 points if they win.

The most points they have acquired during a regular season was 131 during the 1995-96 run for the Stanley Cup. They ended up losing in the Conference Finals to the Colorado Avalanche in six games 4-2. Round one of this season's playoffs begins Wednesday, April 9.

Detroit will start the playoffs taking on the No. 8 seed, Nashville Predators who beat the St. Louis Blues Thursday night, 3-2 and then watched the Edmonton Oilers defeat the Vancouver Canucks 2-1 to secure a playoff spot.

The pairings for the other six Western Conference teams will be:

No. 2 San Jose Sharks vs. No. 7 Calgary Flames

No. 3 Minnesota Wild vs. No. 6 Colorado Avalanche

No. 4 Anaheim Ducks vs. No. 5 Dallas Stars.

The Eastern Conference is still yet to be determined with at least four teams, the Ottawa Senators, Boston Bruins, Washington Capitals and Philadelphia Flyers, vying for the last two playoff births.