2009 NHL Awards Finalists: Calder Memorial Trophy

« Prev
1 of 4
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
2009 NHL Awards Finalists: Calder Memorial Trophy
(Photo by Silva Pecota /Getty Images/NHLI)

With the NHL's regular season in the books and the first round of the playoffs well underway, the League announced Wednesday the three finalists for the award recognizing the NHL's top rookie, the Calder Memorial Trophy.

This award, voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association, will be presented on 18 June, live from Las Vegas on Versus in the United States, and CBC in Canada.

After a season in which rookies everywhere did much to contribute to their teams, Kris Versteeg of the Chicago Blackhawks, Bobby Ryan of the Anaheim Ducks, and Steve Mason of the Columbus Blue Jackets, emerged at the head of the pack for the ultimate reward for a successful rookie campaign, the Calder Trophy. These three men beat out other top rookies, now honorable mentions in Luke Schenn [Toronto Maple Leafs], Drew Doughty [Los Angeles Kings], Pekka Rinne [Nashville Predators], and 2008 top overall pick, Steven Stamkos [Tampa Bay Lightning].

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.