Andrew Redington/Getty Images
In playing perhaps the most famous triple bogey in Masters history Friday, it did not look like it was going to be Tiger Woods' week.
After spinning his third shot on the par-five 15th hole off the flag stick and into the water, Woods' initial bogey dropped him out of the share of the lead he was in. Another bogey on the 18th and Tiger looked like he was headed back into his majors pattern of last year—contend and fade.
Then all heck broke loose after his round. That drop he made from the water on the 15th was deemed illegal after Tiger's comments post-round on television. At first, the rules committee initially ruled his play correct.
Woods arrived Saturday and was slapped with an additional two-shot penalty for the violation and was not disqualified for Augusta's error. Tiger took advantage by earning those two shots back on Saturday, finally playing the second nine under par for the first time in eight tries.
Sunday started off on the wrong foot as he dropped shots on Holes 5 and 7. With the rain slowing down the greens, Woods had it figured out on the ninth, as he would birdie four out of six holes to get to five under.
However pars at 16 and 17 froze him there and a tie for fourth was the best he could do.