David Cannon/Getty Images
Frederick Scobie Ridley, chairman of the Augusta National competition committee, which oversees the little tournament they have at the course each April, probably won't have any new friend requests waiting for him next time he logs on Facebook.
Speaking of social media: In the midst of the brewing controversy this morning surrounding Tiger Woods' drop at the 15th hole, the Twitterverse exploded with calls for an explanation regarding the decision to dock Tiger two shots but refrain from disqualifying him.
Golf writer Steve Elling, for one, wasn't optimistic that Ridley would appear to plead his case:
Ridley eventually emerged, looking rather sheepish in his green jacket, to discuss the decision in an early afternoon news conference. However, this was several hours after releasing a statement regarding the decision, which he must have hoped would allay the Magnolia Lane-storming barbarians.
More importantly, though, Ridley and Co. blew the initial decision Friday. Following a call from a viewer, the Committee examined footage of Tiger's shots and determined that he hadn't violated Rule 26, thus allowing Woods to sign an incorrect scorecard.
Fortunately, Ridley and the committee (and Woods) were bailed out by Rule 33-7, which essentially gave them latitude not to disqualify Woods.
The right decisions were made with respect to the rules as they are written. However, the matter was handled in a bungling and almost predictably arrogant manner