Tiger Woods Avoids Disqualification After Illegal Drop in Second Round

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Tiger Woods Avoids Disqualification After Illegal Drop in Second Round

Four-time Masters champion Tiger Woods looked to be in hot water at Augusta National on Saturday as he avoided a potential disqualification from the 2013 Masters in the wake of an illegal drop in Friday's second round, according to ESPN.com's Bob Harig.

Instead of being sent home, Woods was assessed a two-stroke penalty which sets him up for an uphill battle at the year's first major this weekend.

The play in question took place on the 15th hole after Woods' approach shot to the green struck off the flagstick and rolled into the water. He would bogey the hole and go on to record a one-under 71 for the round. 

In his press conference following completion of his second round, Woods admitted he took his drop "two yards away" from the original spot, which should have resulted in a two-stroke penalty.

GolfChannel.com senior writer Jason Sobel broke down the rule and Woods' options at the time:

According to Sobel, the play was up for debate. Officials took their time looking at video evidence before handing down a ruling on Saturday morning. 

The officials ruled that Tiger took a bad drop which cost him two strokes. His Friday score was changed from a one-under 71 to a one-over, 73, knocking him even further behind the leader. He'll need a magnificent weekend in order to make up the difference over the final 36 holes.

Woods shot two under for the first round on Thursday and is currently one under for the tournament, five shots back of leader Jason Day heading into Saturday's third round. He was scheduled to tee off at 1:45 p.m. ET alongside Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano.

 

Follow Bleacher Report Featured Columnist Patrick Clarke on Twitter.

Follow _Pat_Clarke on Twitter

Load More Stories
Golf

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.