Chicago Bulls logoChicago Bulls

Derrick Rose Leads Loaded Rookie Class, Wins ROY Honors

CHICAGO - MARCH 17: Derrick Rose #1 of the Chicago Bulls brings the ball upcourt against the Boston Celtics on March 17, 2009 at the United Center in Chicago, Illinois. The Bulls defeated the Celtics 127-121. NOTE TO USER: User expressly acknowledges and agreees that, by downloading and/or using this Photograph, User is consenting to the terms and conditions of the Getty Images License Agreement. (Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images)
Jason ColdironCorrespondent IApril 22, 2009

Today the NBA announced that Derrick Rose is this year's Rookie of the Year.


Rose averaged 16.8 points per game and led all rookies in assists with 6.3 per game and in minutes played with 37 per game.


Rose is the third Chicago Bull to win the award, following Michael Jordan and Elton Brand.


Rose leads a strong rookie class including O.J Mayo, Russell Westbrook, Brooke Lopez, Jason Thompson, Kevin Love, and Michael Beasley.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices