Ranking Every Last Place Team's Chance of Going Worst-to-First in 2013

« Prev
1 of 9
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Ranking Every Last Place Team's Chance of Going Worst-to-First in 2013
Rich Schultz/Getty Images
Chip Kelly hopes to lead the Philadelphia Eagles out of the NFC East basement.

With the current alignment in the National Football League, we get to see eight teams crowned division champions each season.

Of course, there are also eight teams that finish dead last in those same divisions. But as we all know, it hasn’t been that unusual over the years to see a team do a 180 and go from the basement to the penthouse in one season.

Last season, we saw the Washington Redskins turn the trick, they really did it the hard way. After finishing in last place in the NFC East four straight years, the team ran the table after a 3-6 start and won its first division title since 1999.

So here’s a look at how we rank the chances of each of 2012’s last-place teams to rise up and win a division crown, from most unlikely to extremely possible. It figures to be a real challenge if last season is any indication. While the aforementioned Redskins did manage the trick, six of the eight teams that won their divisions in 2011 repeated last season.

Also keep in mind that six of the eight teams mentioned will (not surprisingly) have new head coaches on the sidelines.

Good luck to all.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.