Handing Out Major Awards for the 2013 World Baseball Classic

« Prev
1 of 8
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Handing Out Major Awards for the 2013 World Baseball Classic
Ezra Shaw/Getty Images
The Dominican Republic became the first team in WBC history to go undefeated (8-0) after defeating Puerto Rico.

After 18 straight days of games, shocking upsets and one dominating team performance, it is time to put a final bow on the 2013 World Baseball Classic by handing out individual awards for the players who shined during the event. 

The Dominican Republic proved itself to be the best team very early on after sleepwalking its way to a 3-0 mark in Pool C. The group, led by New York Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano, never let up and finished its impressive run with a 3-0 victory over Puerto Rico in the championship game. 

At 8-0, the Dominican squad became the first in the brief history of the WBC to go undefeated en route to capturing its first title in this event.

Japan had won the World Baseball Classic the first two times it was played (2006, 2009). It was in contention to win for a third time, but Puerto Rico's surprise 3-1 win in the semifinals meant we would have a new champion. 

Unlike the long Major League Baseball season, where more often than not it becomes clear who will win the major awards (MVP, Manager of the Year, Cy Young, etc.), there is a much smaller sample size by which to judge things, leaving things wide open. 

So, as a final wrap for the World Baseball Classic this year, here are our picks for the very best of the best. 

All WBC stats courtesy of WorldBaseballClassic.com

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.