NHL Vezina Trophy Contenders: Changing of the Guard

« Prev
1 of 6
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
NHL Vezina Trophy Contenders: Changing of the Guard
Isaac Brekken/Getty Images
2012 Vezina Trophy Winner Henrik Lundqvist

Goaltending is the backbone for any successful NHL team.

This year’s Vezina Trophy race may be the most difficult to predict among the NHL’s major awards. Without significant improvement in performance from recent perennial contenders, Martin Brodeur, Henrik Lundqvist, Ryan Miller and Miikka Kiprusoff, there will be a new winner in 2013. While contenders are judged on the basic criterion of being the best at their position, it is rare that a goaltender receives serious consideration if he’s playing for a weak team.

Given their play to date, the following five goalies are the top contenders for this year’s Vezina Trophy.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.