NHL Realignment: Naming the Proposed Divisions

« Prev
1 of 6
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
NHL Realignment: Naming the Proposed Divisions
Bruce Bennett/Getty Images

Realignment in the NHL is all but official, merely waiting for a rubber stamp from the Board of Governors later this month.

With that, the league will be broken down into four new divisions which we will break down in this article.

Until the mid-1990s, the NHL named its divisions after some of the founding fathers of the league:

The Patrick Division after Lester Patrick, the Smythe Division after Conn Smythe, the Adams Division after Charles Adams and the Norris Division after James E. Norris.

When Gary Bettman took over as NHL commissioner, he went to more "traditional" and "less confusing" geographic names which still exist today.

But naming divisions after all-time greats of the sport was uniquely hockey and is something that should be reintroduced.

With that in mind, here are my proposals for the four new proposed divisions in the NHL.

Again, we will name them after all-time hockey greats and the past division names are off the table so no more Adams, Smythe, Norris or Patrick.

Feel free to make your own suggestions and to comment on mine.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.