5 Reasons Washington Redskins Will Repeat as NFC East Champions

« Prev
1 of 6
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
5 Reasons Washington Redskins Will Repeat as NFC East Champions
Patrick McDermott/Getty Images
RG3 salutes the crowd.

The story of the 2012 Washington Redskins can be put into one word—surprising. 

While expectations were high for then-rookie quarterback Robert Griffin III, he certainly surpassed what anyone thought he would do. Griffin’s teammate in the backfield, Alfred Morris, was also an impact player for the burgundy and gold last season. 

Between the play of their rookie tandem and a top defensive unit, the Redskins put together a pretty good season as they were ultimately crowned NFC East champions. 

With the other teams in the NFC East making strides towards improving, it is imperative that Washington does their best to keep riding the wave that they finished on last season. 

Now that RG3 has a full season under his belt, his growing comfortableness in the offensive system of Kyle Shanahan will translate into big games. 

Even with free agency just a day old, the Redskins have already tied up several important free agents that they needed to retain. They will also be returning all-pro LB Brian Orakpo and starting safety Brandon Meriweather (both players ended 2012 on injured-reserve). 

There is much to be hopeful for with Redskins Nation in 2013, and it should not come as a surprise if they repeat as NFC East champions.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow Philadelphia Eagles from B/R on Facebook

Follow Philadelphia Eagles from B/R on Facebook and get the latest updates straight to your newsfeed!

Philadelphia Eagles

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.