CyclingDownload App

Alberto Contador Takes Second Pais Vasco Title, Dominates TT

James ThompsonCorrespondent INovember 5, 2016

Becoming the first rider in the race's history to take a second consecutive win, Alberto Contador (Astana) put in a dominating performance on the final day's time trial to win his second Vuelta a Pais Vasco title. 

After gaining the lead with his once again devastating mountain top finish that put 10 seconds into his direct competitors in the last few kilometers of the final climb, Contador maintained his lead through stages four and five, coming into Saturday's final time trial with his advantage.

The 24-kilometer hilly time trial looked suited to the Spaniards time-trialling talent, and he did not let fans down.  Not content with simply preserving his existing lead, Contador won the final time trial and put more precious seconds into his competitors. 

Contador was the only man to break the 32-minute mark, coming in at 31:59 and averaging 45 km/h.  Antonio Colom (Katusha) and Olympic champ Sammy Sanchez (Euskatel-Euskadi) rounded out the TT podium and were the only riders to come within a minute of the dominant Astana rider.

With the time gaps that opened up on the final day's time trial, Colom and Sanchez used their results to move up to second and third, respectively, overall behind Contador, knocking Cadel Evans (Silence-Lotto) off the podium.

Contador can now rest assured that he is in excellent form coming out of his spring campaign, having taken two victories overall at this race the Volta ao Algarve, and a second place at Castilla y Leon while helping teammate Levi Leipheimer to a win.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices