Big 12 BasketballDownload App

Big 12 Will Review Officiating in Closing Minutes of Kansas-Iowa State Game

Feb 25, 2013; Ames IA, USA;  Kansas Jayhawks player Elijah Johnson (15) dribbles up the floor in the second half against the Iowa State Cyclones at Hilton Coliseum. Kansas beat Iowa State 108-96.   Mandatory Credit: Reese Strickland-USA TODAY Sports
Reese Strickland-USA TODAY Sports
Andrew DoughtyCorrespondent IIJune 2, 2016

It appears one of the best games of the college basketball season will be reviewed by the Big 12 Conference for officiating blunders.

The conference's coordinator of officials confirmed with that the final minute of Kansas' 108-96 overtime victory over Iowa State on Monday will be reviewed, with specific emphasis on a no-call in the closing seconds.

The Jayhawks' Elijah Johnson capped off an improbable comeback with two free throws with five seconds remaining in the game, part of a 39-point evening for the senior point guard.

With KU down 90-88, Johnson drove to the bucket where the Iowa State's Georges Niang attempted to take the charge, but the officials opted for a no-call. Niang was whistled for a reach-in on the ensuing scramble for the loose ball, sending Johnson to the line where he sent the game to overtime.

Curtis Shaw, the Big 12's coordinator of officials, said "We will handle the situation and approach the teams appropriately," said Shaw. "We review every play and take the appropriate action." (h/t

Shaw would not confirm or deny whether the call at the end of regulation was correct, just that it would be reviewed.

The officials in Monday's game were Tom O'Neill, Mark Whitehead and Bert Smith.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices