Conference USA FootballDownload App

Conference USA Signs With The Hawaii Bowl

David HedlindAnalyst IIApril 11, 2009

In 2008, the Pac-10 Conference had deals with seven bowl games. Only five teams became bowl eligible.

For last year’s Hawaii Bowl, the seventh selection of Pac-10 teams would have faced a WAC team.

That has now changed, because the Hawaii Bowl has decided to pull out of its deal with the Pac-10, signing a deal with Conference USA. The game's organizers were worried, and rightfully so, that the Pac-10 would again fail to supply a team for their bowl.

A Conference USA team, other than the league champion (who gets an automatic bid to the Liberty Bowl), will now have a spot in Hawaii.

The bowl lineup for Conference USA in 2009 now consists of the Liberty, GMAC, Hawaii, Armed Forces, New Orleans, Texas, and St. Petersburg bowl games, provided they don’t lose a tie-in anywhere else.

From what I know, this is a one-year deal for 2009.


Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices