College Basketball's Pivotal Seniors in 2009

« Prev
1 of 11
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
College Basketball's Pivotal Seniors in 2009

In this era of college basketball its rare for a star player to see through his four years of eligibility. In 2008 the marque teams were led by freshman.

Derrick Rose took Memphis to the title game for the first time since 1973.

Kevin Love gave UCLA an inside presence they lacked the previous two seasons and helped lead them to their third consecutive Final Four.

Michael Beasley led Kansas State to it first NCAA Tournament appearance since 1996 and their first win since 1988.

Other freshmen stars included USC's O.J. Mayo, Arizona's Jarryd Bayless and Indiana's Eric Gordon.

In 2009 many of the successful teams have had to rely on their Seniors to earn the success they have achieved.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.