Basketball Hall of Fame 2013 Finalists: Complete List of Potential Inductees

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Basketball Hall of Fame 2013 Finalists: Complete List of Potential Inductees

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced the finalists for the class of 2013 on Friday. In an official release, the NBA listed all of the players up for consideration, including two of the league's best point guards of the 1990s. 

Gary Payton has the chance to be a first-ballot Hall of Famer thanks to a successful 17-year career playing primarily for the Seattle Supersonics franchise. Payton also played for the Milwaukee Bucks, Los Angeles Lakers and Boston Celtics before settling with the Miami Heat to finish out his playing days, winning an NBA title in 2006.

Eliot J. Schechter/Getty Images

The defensive stalwart known as "The Glove" was named to the NBA All-Defensive First Team for nine straight seasons, and also made it to nine All-Star games. 

Fellow point guard Tim Hardaway was also announced as a finalist. Hardaway was a star player for both the Golden State Warriors and Miami Heat, but also made stops in Dallas, Denver and Indiana before calling it a career. 

Hardaway helped to revolutionize his position, combining devastating handles with explosive scoring rarely seen from floor generals before his time. 

Other potential inductees include Mitch Richmond (six-time NBA All-Star, 1989 NBA Rookie of the Year), Maurice Cheeks (four-time NBA All-Star, four-time NBA All-Defensive First Team) and Bernard King (four-time NBA All-Star, 1985 NBA scoring champion). 

To round out the players on the ballot, the North American committee gave ABA and NBA standout Spencer Haywood a nod. 

Andy Lyons/Getty Images

Tom Heinsohn was already inducted as a player in 1986, but he is up for consideration again thanks to his successful nine-year tenure as head coach of the Boston Celtics. Also eligible on the coaching side are current Louisville head coach Rick Pitino, former Houston University head coach Guy V. Lewis and former UNLV head coach Jerry Tarkanian.

For the women, Dawn Staley—a six-time WNBA All-Star and three-time Olympic gold medalist—was the first player announced from the committee. Sylvia Hatchell, longtime coach of the North Carolina Tar Heels, was also recognized. 

Here is a complete list of the finalists:



Gary Payton

Point guard

Tim Hardaway

Point guard

Rick Pitino

Head coach

Mitch Richmond

Shooting guard

Maurice Cheeks

Point guard

Guy V. Lewis

Head coach

Spencer Haywood

Power forward/Center

Bernard King

Small forward

Jerry Tarkanian

Head coach

Sylvia Hatchell

Head coach

Dawn Staley


Tom Heinsohn

Head coach

Follow B/R on Facebook

Out of Bounds


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.