MLBDownload App

MLB Announces Beacon Awards

COOPERSTOWN, NY - JULY 27:  Baseball legend and Hall of Famer Hank Aaron looks on at Clark Sports Center prior to the Baseball Hall of Fame induction ceremony on July 27, 2008 in Cooperstown, New York.  (Photo by Jim McIsaac/Getty Images)
Jason ColdironCorrespondent IApril 8, 2009

Henry Aaron, Bill Cosby, and Muhammad Ali have been selected by Major League Baseball to receive this year's Beacon Award.


They will be presented during this year's Civil Rights game. The game originated in 2007 as an exhibition between the Reds and White Sox. This will be the first year that the game will take place during the regular season, on June 20.


Baseball officials say that the awards are intended to honor individuals whose lives are emblematic of the civil rights movement. The honors will be presented at a luncheon before the game.


Previous winners of the award include director Spike Lee and baseball legend Frank Robinson.


Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices