Pro Wrestling's 5 Greatest Individual Records That Will Never Be Broken

Dean Siemon@deansiemonAnalyst IIFebruary 8, 2013

Pro Wrestling's 5 Greatest Individual Records That Will Never Be Broken

0 of 5

    There’s the old saying in sports that records are meant to be broken.

    Brett Favre's 297 straight starts in the NFL, Joe DiMaggio’s 56-game hitting streak in baseball and Wilt Chamberlin’s 100-point basketball game are just a few that are considered legendary.

    When it comes to professional wrestling, the old saying doesn’t always apply. Many of the best records from current or future Hall of Famers were set at a different time in wrestling than what we see now.

    Records are talked about when we see a star holding a championship for an extended period of time, or when a new star wins every match in the first four or five months of his career.

    Yes, the wins and losses are planned out. But just like any athlete, every pro wrestler wants to be able to stand center stage accomplishing what only few, if any, can do.

    These five impressive records are the pro wrestling equivalents to the Dolphins 17-0 season or the century mark in basketball.

Goldberg's 173-0 Streak

1 of 5

    Over the last decade, we’ve compared many powerhouses to Goldberg—Brock Lesnar, Bobby Lashley and Ryback to name a few.

    But none of them ever came close to the winning streak that started Goldberg’s career at World Championship Wrestling from Sept. 22, 1997 to Dec. 27, 1998.

    Growing up in that era of wrestling, I was one of many who were awestruck with the monstrous athlete that seemed like a real-life Terminator.

    How could a single man never lose? To say the least, when he lost the World Heavyweight Championship at the 1998 Starcade to Kevin Nash, via a taser from Scott Hall, I was heartbroken.

    Since then, undefeated streaks seem to end after about four to six months, and they become more mortal as opposed to the monster they debuted as.

    It would be interesting if WWE ever creates a character that can carry that torch. While they seemed to have been heading in that direction with Ryback at first, they may have rushed his push too much with losses to CM Punk for the WWE Championship.

    While I'm sure the WWE can always create a monster powerhouse at any time, the question would be whether it would keep everyone's attention to where it can challenge Goldberg's streak.

Ric Flair's World Championship Reigns

2 of 5

    One cannot mention professional wrestling history without throwing "Nature Boy" Ric Flair into the conversation.

    First, let’s note that we’ve heard several promos where Ric Flair is labeled the 16-time World Heavyweight Champion on television. But there are also records that claim he has as many as 23.

    A few years ago, I would have told you that John Cena or Triple H would easily smash either number by 2013.

    But it seems both stars have taken a back seat to younger talent, although Cena, who has 12 championships (all in WWE), is set to challenge for the WWE Championship at WrestleMania 29.

    Sting is second on the all-time list of championship reigns with 14, but I couldn’t imagine he would hold the title in TNA many more times before he hangs up the boots.

    Triple H is moving into office duty as a 13-time world champion, so I doubt he would break Flair’s record. But from 2003 to 2006, I'm sure many fans speculated he would have closer to 20 at the pace he was winning.

    Current stars in the Rock (10 time champion), Randy Orton (9), Undertaker (7), Big Show (7) and CM Punk (6) are probably not going to hit anywhere near Flair’s mark by their retirement.

    It could be a long time before we see this record broken depending on which of Flair's title reigns count. If it happens, it may be either someone that just recently debuted or moving up the ranks to the main roster as we speak.

Fabulous Moolah's Dominance in Women's Wrestling

3 of 5

    Speaking of championship reigns, the Fabulous Moolah was dominating in women's wrestling for almost 30 years.

    Women’s Champion for 28 years. Now there are a few losses that the company doesn’t want to recognize, but it is still an amazing feat for one woman to dominate the division for such a long period of time.

    It is something to really think about when you consider that over the last few years, there have only been a handful of memorable women in WWE.

    Trish Stratus, who has been named to the WWE Hall of Fame Class of 2013, is one of those few that revitalized the Divas division with Lita.

    Outside of those two, we haven’t had a good number of great Divas who have matches that stand out. Kaitlyn, Eve, Alicia Fox and Tamina Snuka are not yet standouts in that regard.

    It also hasn’t been a big focus for WWE, as sometimes I have forgotten who the Divas Champion is a number of times in the last few years.

    I would love to see a bigger focus on women’s wrestling, especially if current NXT talents like Paige can step up and create their own revitalization of the Divas division over the next decade and beyond.

Bruno Sammartino's 4,040 Days as WWF Champion

4 of 5

    Another streak that is unlikely to be matched is the total number of days as world champion, held by Bruno Sammartino.

    While he only held the WWF Championship twice in his career, both of Sammartino's title reigns combined for 4,040 days.

    His first run as champion began May 17, 1963 and held it for more than seven years before losing to Ivan Koloff on January 18, 1971.

    He regained the championship on Dec. 10, 1973 after defeating Stan Stasiak before losing to “Superstar” Billy Graham on April 30, 1977.

    Think about how many superstars have won the WWE Championship in the last 10 years – Kurt Angle, Brock Lesnar, Eddie Guerrero, John “Bradshaw” Layfield, John Cena, Edge, Rob Van Dam, Randy Orton, Triple H, Jeff Hardy, Batista, Sheamus, the Miz, CM Punk, Rey Mysterio, Alberto Del Rio and the Rock.

    Seventeen different men have held the same championship that one man held for almost the same amount of time.

    With the way officials move the championship belts around and continue to develop new top main event talents, it is extremely unlikely that any superstar will ever come close to breaking Sammartino’s record of most days as champion.

Undertaker's 20-0 Record at WrestleMania

5 of 5

    Many are waiting to see who the bell tolls for with WrestleMania right around the corner. Many wonder who will next challenge to break the Undertaker's undefeated streak on the biggest stage in professional wrestling.

    As we have seen in the course of a little more than two decades, the Undertaker has built a reputation for winning on the grandest stage of professional wrestling

    What began at WrestleMania VII in 1991, the Deadman started a streak with a quick win over Jimmy “Superfly” Snuka.

    As the years went on, the streak included legendary names such as Jake “The Snake” Roberts, King Kong Bundy, Ric Flair and Shawn Michaels.

    While the Undertaker has only wrestled once a year for the last few WrestleMania events, it’s hard to imagine if any current or future WWE superstar will ever be able to meet or beat this streak.

    Think about how tough and physically demanding it is for anyone to begin a streak that would take more than 20 years to meet and surpass. It also requires a special kind of talent.

    The Undertaker is one of a kind and cannot be duplicated. Therefore, this is a record that cannot be ended.