NFL Hall of Fame 2013: Selection Committee Aced This Year's Class

Mike HoagCorrespondent IIFebruary 2, 2013

Feb 2, 2013; New Orleans, LA, USA; NFL former player Jonathan Ogden speaks after being selected to the pro football hall of fame during a NFL Network presentation at the New Orleans Convention Center. Mandatory Credit: Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports
Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

NFL Hall of Fame voting isn’t easy, but the 2013 selection committee passed this year’s process with flying colors.

Despite having to sift through countless deserving individuals, the committee made the right call by enshrining this very deserving class.

Several big names were also up for consideration and made the final cut from 15 to 10. However, they weren’t convincing enough to unseat others who had been biding their time for their big day.

Michael Strahan, Aeneas Williams, Charles Haley, Jerome Bettis and Andre Reed made the cut for the final 10, but will have to wait until next year for their shot at enshrinement.

Not everyone should be a first-ballot Hall of Famer. That’s the thing that this committee got right. When dealing with such high quality individuals there has to be some system applied that helps to differentiate the group.

Voting by seniority isn’t always the best policy, and that was apparent by this year’s selection.

Three of those selected—Jonathan Ogden, Warren Sapp and Larry Allen—were all first balloters.

Take a look at the entire seven-member class and a brief look at each inductee's credentials.


Hall of Fame Class of 2013

OG/OT Larry Allen

Larry Allen, 41, was a first-ballot selection to the Hall of Fame. He went to 11 Pro Bowls in his 12 NFL seasons and was a six-time NFL First-Team All-Pro. He was also selected to the All-Decade team for 1990s and 2000s.


WR Cris Carter

Cris Carter went to eight NFL Pro Bowls in his 12-year career. That also included two selections to the NFL’s All-Pro team.


DT Curley Culp

Curley Culp, who went to six Pro Bowls and was selected to one All-Pro team, was a senior candidate for this year’s selection process. Culp is the 10th member of the Kansas City Chiefs organization to be enshrined in Canton.


OT Jonathan Ogden

Ogden retired in 2007 after 11 Pro Bowl seasons with the Baltimore Ravens, the team who picked him with their first ever draft pick in 1996. This year was his first shot at Canton and he earned the right of passage.


Bill Parcells

“The Tuna” missed the cut three times, but is finally heading to Canton. He won two Super Bowls with the New York Giants and also helped the New England Patriots to another. Parcells is widely regarded as having the complete package: Not only can he scout players and pick the right ones; he could coach them up, too.


LB Dave Robinson

Dave Robinson is the other non-modern era player selected to this year’s class. After 34 years of eligibility Robinson became a finalist for the first time in 2013. He’s also the second member of an All-Decade team, making the list for the team of the 1960s. He won the NFL championship with Green Bay along with the first two Super Bowls, I and II.


DT Warren Sapp

Warren Sapp was a central figure in the Tampa Bay Buccaneers Super Bowl-winning season. He finished his 13-year NFL career with seven trips to the Pro Bowl and four selections to the league’s All-Pro team.