Pro Football Hall of Fame 2013: Complete Look at This Year's Inductees

Ben ChodosCorrespondent IIFebruary 2, 2013

The 2013 Hall of Fame class has been selected, and Larry Allen, Cris Carter, Curley Culp, Jonathan Ogden, Bill Parcells, Dave Robinson and Warren Sapp will all be headed to Canton, Ohio in the summer.

The NFL Network reported the results via Twitter:

2013 Hall of Fame Class: Larry Allen, Cris Carter, Jonathan Ogden, Bill Parcells, Dave Robinson, Warren Sapp, Curly Culp. #HOF

— NFL Network (@nflnetwork) February 2, 2013

Fifteen finalists from the modern era were selected, along with Robinson and Culp, the two senior candidates. 

Tim Brown, Will Shields, Edward DeBartolo Jr., Art Modell and Kevin Greene were the first five members cut. Jerome Bettis, Charles Haley, Andre Reed, Michael Strahan and Aeneas Williams were the next five players who were passed over.

Allen, Ogden and Sapp are now all first-ballot Hall of Famers. The only first-time candidate who was not selected was Strahan.

Among the members of the new class, Carter likely breathed the heaviest sigh of relief upon hearing his name, as he had been denied entry into the Hall of Fame the previous five years.

Bill Parcells is the only non-player among this year’s inductees. He was considered in the last three years but denied each time, much to the dismay of fans across the country.

Parcells and Carter were pointed to as examples of snubs in previous years. Now that they are both Hall of Famers, new players will fill their place as lighting rods for criticism toward the NFL’s selection process. 

In all likelihood, Strahan will receive the most attention among the players who were not selected.

All seven of those admitted to the Hall of Fame are extremely deserving and will be valuable additions to the list of the sport’s greatest figures.