10 Sleeper Super Bowl XLVII MVPs

« Prev
1 of 11
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
10 Sleeper Super Bowl XLVII MVPs
Elsa/Getty Images

History shows that either San Francisco 49ers quarterback Colin Kaepernick or Baltimore Ravens quarterback Joe Flacco are the favorites be named the MVP of Super Bowl XLVII.

Twenty-five of the 47 players to win the award played quarterback. (Dallas Cowboys defenders Randy White and Harvey Martin shared the award in Super Bowl XII.)

Thirty-eight players on the offensive side of the football have won the trophy as opposed to only eight from the defense. Green Bay Packers kick returner Desmond Howard was the lone special teams player. 

Then there are players that defied convention all together. Those are the players who no one expected much from in the Super Bowl, let alone to be named MVP.

Dallas Cowboy cornerback Larry Brown had two interceptions in Super Bowl XXX. Tampa Bay Buccaneers safety Dexter Jackson won the award in Super Bowl XXXVII with two interceptions as well. 

Baltimore’s linebacker Ray Lewis did not even put up great statistics to win the Super Bowl XXXV MVP. Lewis had five total tackles and four passes defended.

Here is a list of 10 unlikely yet talented players who could win the Super Bowl XLVII award. Granted, each would need to play the game of his life, but as the examples above prove, anybody can have their best day in the Super Bowl.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.