Blake Griffin Wins AP Player Of The Year

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Blake Griffin Wins AP Player Of The Year
(Photo by Joe Murphy/Getty Images)

Despite a disappointing finish to his season, Blake Griffin was the runaway choice for AP Player of the Year.


Griffin, who received 66-of-71 votes, was also the only unanimous selection to the AP All-American team.


While it was a foregone conclusion for most of the season, Griffin becomes the first Oklahoma player to win the award.

Griffin will also most likely become the first overall selection in the NBA draft, another first for the Sooners.


Tyler Hansbrough of UNC, last year’s winner, and DeJuan Blair of Pitt each received two votes.


Griffin, who had 30 double-doubles on the season, finished the year averaging 22.7 points per game, and lead the nation in rebounding, hauling in 14.4 boards per game.


Griffin led the Sooners to a 30-6 record while setting a Big 12 record for shooting at 65.4 percent from the field.

Oklahoma Sooners Basketball

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.