Super Bowl MVP: Odds Show Ray Lewis No. 3 Betting Pick ColumnistJanuary 23, 2013

28 Jan 2001:  Ray Lewis #52 of the Baltimore Ravens celebrates after the Super Bowl XXXV Game against the New York Giants at the Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Florida. The Ravens defeated the Giants 34-7.Mandatory Credit: Andy Lyons  /Allsport
Andy Lyons/Getty Images

Defensive players almost never win the MVP of the Super Bowl, but the man currently listed as the No. 3 betting choice has a chance to become the first two-time defensive winner.

The Super Bowl MVP odds menu at one sportsbook has Ray Lewis as a 6/1 bet, just behind the two starting quarterbacks. Lewis, who is riding a Cinderella run through these NFL playoffs after announcing he would retire at year-end, won the MVP award 12 years ago at Super Bowl XXXV.

Since then, only Dexter Jackson of Tampa Bay has won the prize from the defensive side of the ball.

“Those odds at Bovada might be a little high, but I think the oddsmakers are guarding against any nostalgic love-in the voters may have with Lewis before he retires,” said Jack Randall in an interview from, where he is a lead football analyst.

“If he plays well and nobody else plays spectacularly, you can see emotion and a Hollywood ending getting in the way of a true vote.”

And what about the top betting choices?

Colin Kaepernick was Alex Smith’s backup in San Francisco in Week 10 before injury opened the door. As of Tuesday, he is the top choice on the Super Bowl MVP odds menu at 7/4.

Baltimore Ravens QB Joe Flacco was next at 5/2, followed by Frank Gore at 17/2 and Ray Rice at 12/1.

SUPER BOWL MVP Odds – via Bovada (as of Jan. 22, 2013):

Colin Kaepernick (SF) QB 7/4

Joe Flacco (BAL) QB 5/2

Ray Lewis (BAL) LB               6/1

Frank Gore (SF) RB                17/2

Ray Rice (BAL) RB                 12/1

Michael Crabtree (SF) WR      16/1

Anquan Boldin (BAL) WR       18/1

Torrey Smith (BAL) WR          20/1

Vernon Davis (SF) TE              22/1

Aldon Smith (SF) LB                25/1

Dennis Pitta (BAL) TE              33/1

Ed Reed (BAL) FS                  33/1

Randy Moss (SF) WR              40/1

Terrell Suggs (BAL) LB            50/1

LaMichael James (SF) RB        50/1

Patrick Willis (SF) LB              66/1

NaVorro Bowman (SF) LB      66/1

Dashon Goldson (SF) FS         66/1

David Akers (SF) K                 66/1

Bernard Pierce (BAL) RB        75/1

Justin Tucker (BAL) K             75/1

Delanie Walker (SF) TE           75/1

Ted Ginn Jr. (SF) WR              75/1

Alex Smith (SF) QB                100/1

Field                                      22/1

Past Super Bowl MVP winners

Game    Winner        Team            Position       
I    Bart Starr    Green Bay Packers    Quarterback       
II    Bart Starr    Green Bay Packers    Quarterback       
III    Joe Namath    New York Jets        Quarterback       
IV    Len Dawson    Kansas City Chiefs    Quarterback       
V    Chuck Howley    Dallas Cowboys        Linebacker       
VI    Roger Staubach    Dallas Cowboys        Quarterback       
VII    Jake Scott    Miami Dolphins        Safety       
VIII    Larry Csonka     Miami Dolphins        Running back       
IX    Franco Harris     Pittsburgh Steelers    Running back       
X    Lynn Swann     Pittsburgh Steelers    Wide receiver       
XI    Fred Biletnikoff Oakland Raiders        Wide receiver       
XII    Harvey Martin    Dallas Cowboys        Defensive end*       
XII    Randy White    Dallas Cowboys        Defensive tackle*       
XIII    Terry Bradshaw    Pittsburgh Steelers    Quarterback       
XIV    Terry Bradshaw    Pittsburgh Steelers    Quarterback       
XV    Jim Plunkett    Oakland Raiders        Quarterback       
XVI    Joe Montana     San Francisco 49ers    Quarterback       
XVII    John Riggins    Washington Redskins    Running back       
XVIII    Marcus Allen     Los Angeles Raiders    Running back       
XIX    Joe Montana    San Francisco 49ers    Quarterback       
XX    Richard Dent    Chicago Bears        Defensive end       
XXI    Phil Simms    New York Giants        Quarterback       
XXII    Doug Williams    Washington Redskins    Quarterback       
XXIII    Jerry Rice     San Francisco 49ers    Wide receiver       
XXIV    Joe Montana    San Francisco 49ers    Quarterback       
XXV    Ottis Anderson    New York Giants        Running back       
XXVI    Mark Rypien    Washington Redskins    Quarterback       
XXVII    Troy Aikman     Dallas Cowboys        Quarterback       
XXVIII    Emmitt Smith     Dallas Cowboys        Running back       
XXIX    Steve Young     San Francisco 49ers    Quarterback       
XXX    Larry Brown    Dallas Cowboys        Cornerback       
XXXI    Desmond Howard    Green Bay Packers    Returner       
XXXII    Terrell Davis    Denver Broncos        Running back       
XXXIII    John Elway    Denver Broncos        Quarterback       
XXXIV    Kurt Warner    St. Louis Rams        Quarterback       
XXXV    Ray Lewis     Baltimore Ravens    Linebacker       
XXXVI    Tom Brady     New England Patriots    Quarterback       
XXXVII    Dexter Jackson    Tampa Bay Buccaneers    Safety       
XXXVIII    Tom Brady     New England Patriots    Quarterback       
XXXIX    Deion Branch     New England Patriots    Wide receiver       
XL    Hines Ward    Pittsburgh Steelers    Wide receiver       
XLI    Peyton Manning     Indianapolis Colts    Quarterback       
XLII    Eli Manning     New York Giants        Quarterback       
XLIII    Santonio Holmes Pittsburgh Steelers    Wide receiver       
XLIV    Drew Brees     New Orleans Saints    Quarterback       
XLV    Aaron Rodgers     Green Bay Packers    Quarterback       
XLVI    Eli Manning     New York Giants        Quarterback  

All odds, stats and trends mentioned courtesy of Mike Pickett is an Analyst at Bleacher Report and contributes to the Twitter feed.