Dark Horse Vezina Trophy Candidates Heading into 2013

« Prev
1 of 6
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Dark Horse Vezina Trophy Candidates Heading into 2013
Bruce Bennett/Getty Images
Rangers goalie Henrik Lundqvist won the Vezina Trophy in 2012.

Why should the big boys have all the fun?

When it comes to discussing this season’s potential winner of the Vezina Trophy, awarded to the NHL’s top netminder, you can round up the usual suspects.

There is last year’s winner, Henrik Lundqvist of the New York Rangers. Or perhaps Buffalo Sabres goaltender Ryan Miller, who took the award the year before him.

Also in the conversation is Jonathan Quick of the Los Angeles Kings, last year’s playoff MVP, and the Nashville Predators’ Pekka Rinne, a finalist for the award last season.

But someone could crash their party. The following is a list of dark horse candidates who could emerge in the lockout-shortened season and capture the Vezina Trophy from the big boys.

(All stats are via ESPN.com)

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.