Worst Blown Calls in the History of Baseball

Zak SchmollAnalyst IJanuary 27, 2013

Worst Blown Calls in the History of Baseball

0 of 10

    As much as we all hate to admit it, umpires are not perfect.

    We want them to be robots and make every call with pinpoint precision. However, if we have humans, we have to accept human error.

    Those errors are sometimes entertaining, though. For this article, I have researched the Internet for 10 of the worst blown calls that umpires are made. Not all of them will be at the major league level, but I think you'll enjoy checking some of these out. I had fun watching them.

The Hidden Ball Trick That Should Not Have Worked

1 of 10

    As you watch this video more and more, it becomes rather obvious that the LSU runner was on base before the second baseman for UC Irvine supposedly tagged him out.

    The reason I believe it deserves merit on this list is because there was nothing else going on. That umpires should have been focusing on the only motion on the entire field.

    Perhaps everyone was victimized by the trickery, but I would hope that the umpire would catch this play.

Just a Bit Outside...or Not

2 of 10

    I know that being the umpire behind the plate is not an easy job.

    However, when the catcher lines up on the outside corner and has to move farther outside to catch the ball, you would think that this call would be rather obvious.

    Apparently, it's not quite as obvious as you might think, though.

An Out without the Ball

3 of 10

    I told myself that I was not going to include any children's baseball because, obviously, many of the umpires are volunteers who are not well trained.

    However, at the Little League World Series, I would assume the level of the umpires would be considerably higher.

    Generally, you need to catch the ball before the umpire calls it an out. I am sure that this call got overturned, but it was a pretty funny video.

The Base Is over There...

4 of 10

    When I first watched this video, I didn't see what was so bad about it. Perhaps that was because of the quality of the video, or maybe it was because of the angle.

    However, when you watch until the end of the video, the replay shows a slightly different perspective.

    As far as I understand this game, you generally need to be standing on the base when you catch the ball to make an out.

With the Game on the Line

5 of 10

    This must have been the ultimate insult to the Pittsburgh Pirates. It was the bottom of the 19th inning, and they obviously had played hard for a very long time. Unfortunately, they allowed the Atlanta Braves to load the bases.

    However, an easy bouncer to third base results in a simple out at home.

    Except the umpire didn't see it that way.

    The umpire has just one thing to watch, but apparently he missed it by about three feet.

Three in One

6 of 10

    This video will give you three terrible calls for the price of one.

    The first two were bad in their own right, but the double play at third base really defies logic. It was not very difficult to see, and I think you could even tell from the baserunners’ expressions that something bad happened to them.

    In a playoff game, every out can make a difference. Elimination is never very far, and the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim got ripped off on this one.

It Is Called an Infield Fly for a Reason

7 of 10

    I have a feeling that they came up with the name infield fly because the fly ball has to be in the infield for this rule to be invoked.

    Apparently, though, left field counted as the infield during this game between the Atlanta Braves and the St. Louis Cardinals last year.

    It would not be hard to find hundreds of examples where this same situation resulted in a base hit, but for some reason, this umpire thought differently.

How Did You See That?

8 of 10

    I was watching the umpire during this video. He was watching the play at the plate to presumably see the runner touch home.

    However, he called the runner out because his foot was questionably tagged.

    The umpire was not even necessarily looking at where the action supposedly took place. I don't necessarily buy it.

Isn't That Simple?

9 of 10

    I really don't have a lot to say about this one. It was a simple ground ball, there was plenty of time for the umpire to realize what was happening and there was no other action that that umpire should've been watching.

    The umpire was even in the right position and could see everything that was happening.

    I'm just not quite sure how he didn't see it.

Perhaps the Most Famous of Them All

10 of 10

    Umpires blow calls all the time, as you have seen through this slideshow. However, I have a little bit of a advice for you.

    If you ever decide to become an umpire and you have to blow a call at some point during your long career, please do not make it to the final call that costs someone a perfect game.

    You can ask Jim Joyce if you want another opinion on that.

     

    Whether you think I know everything or nothing about Major League Baseball, you should follow me on Twitter or become a fan on Facebook and keep in touch. I love hearing what you all have to say!