Baseball Hall of Fame: Candidates Who Will Clearly Never Get Inducted

« Prev
1 of 8
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Baseball Hall of Fame: Candidates Who Will Clearly Never Get Inducted
Ronald Martinez/Getty Images
Sammy Sosa didn't get move love his first time on the ballot. Will he ever be inducted?

The Baseball Writers' Association of America has spoken, and not one Hall of Fame candidate will be inducted in 2013.

But the fact of the matter is that some players on the ballot will never get inducted, no matter the year.

Whether a player was linked to performance-enhancing drugs over the course of their career or their numbers simply don't match up to those already in Cooperstown, some players on the ballot will just never make the cut.

They might stay on the ballot for the 15 years that they're allowed to—as long as they receive five percent of the votes each year—but they will never get the 75 percent required to be inducted.

This year was one of the few years where players who were fringe-candidates—as far as statistics are concerned—and were never linked to PEDs could possibly make it in, but that didn't happen either.

In the coming years, writers may neglect to vote for some players since they're only allotted 10 votes.

For example, Jack Morris only has one year of eligibility remaining, but there will be plenty more interesting names on the ballot for the first time in 2014—Tom Glavine and Greg Maddux, for example—so Morris might not make it in.

The following list features Hall of Fame candidates whose names will be on the ballot in the upcoming years, but still won't make it in—ever.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.