2013 BDO World Darts Championship: Dates, Schedule, Predictions and More

Rick Weiner@RickWeinerNYFeatured ColumnistJanuary 5, 2013

FRIMLEY, ENGLAND - JANUARY 09:  Martin Adams of England (L) celebrates winning the BDO World Darts Championship final with Trina Gulliver of England, winner of the previous day's BDO Women's World Darts Championship final, at the Lakeside Country Club on January 9, 2011 in Frimley Green, England. The reigning champion Martin Adams secured his third championship and claimed the 100,000 GBP first prize.  (Photo by Oli Scarff/Getty Images)
Oli Scarff/Getty Images

Led by defending champions Christian Kist and Anastasia Dobromyslova, 40 of the best darts players in the world converge on Lakeside Country Club for the 36th annual World Championship Tournament held by the British Darts Organization.

The eight-day tournament features a 32-player men's field competing for £258,000 in prize money—£100,000 to the champion—while the eight-player women's field chases after a pot of £16,000, with £10,000 going to the lady who takes home the crown as best in the world.

This is a phenomenal event, one that features a raucous crowd and colorful personalities, complete with their own walk-up music and cheering sections.

Here's everything you need to know leading up to the action.


When: Saturday, January 5 through Sunday, January 13

Where: Lakeside Country Club at Firmley Green in Surrey, England

Watch: BBC, ESPN, Eurosport and Eurosport Asia


Seeded Player (Country) Unseeded Player (Country) Date Time (ET)
No. 11 Martin Atkins (England) Jason Cullen (Ireland) Saturday, Jan. 5 8 a.m.
No. 5 Robbie Green (England) Christian Kist (Netherlands) Saturday, Jan. 5 9:30 a.m.
No. 10 Gary Robson (England) Garry Thompson (England) Saturday, Jan. 5 10:30 a.m.
No. 15 Richie George (England) Dave Prins (England) Saturday, Jan. 5 11:30 a.m.
No. 16 Darryl Fitton (England) Benito van de Pas (Netherlands) Saturday, Jan. 5 1:30 p.m.
No. 9 Alan Norris (England) Wayne Warren (Wales) Saturday, Jan. 5 2:30 p.m.
No. 4 Tony O'Shea (England) John Walton (England) Saturday, Jan. 5 3:30 p.m.
No. 1 Stephen Bunting (England) James Wilson (England) Sunday, Jan. 6 8 a.m.
No. 13 Steve Douglas (England) Gary Stone (Scotland) Sunday, Jan. 6 9 a.m.
No. 2 Martin Adams (England) Jimmy Hendriks (Netherlands) Sunday, Jan. 6 10 a.m.
No. 12 Scott Mitchell (England) Mark Barilli (Scotland) Sunday, Jan. 6 11 a.m.
No. 7 Jan Dekker (Netherlands) Jeffrey de Graaf (Netherlands) Sunday, Jan. 6 1:30 p.m.
No. 8 Wesley Harms (Netherlands) Rune David (Norway) Sunday, Jan. 6 3:30 p.m.
No. 14 Geert de Vos (Belgium) Tony Eccles (England) Monday, Jan. 7 1:30 p.m.
No. 6 Ross Montgomery (Scotland) Paul Jennings (England) Monday, Jan. 7 2:30 p.m.
No. 3 Scott Waites (England) Willy van de Wiel (Netherlands) Monday, Jan. 7 3:30 p.m.


Leading Men's Contenders

Scott Waites (England)

Ranked eighth in the world by the BDO, Waites won both the Zulderduin Masters and World Masters tournaments back in 2011, but has never moved past the quarterfinals of the World Championships. His last two appearances at Lakeside saw him fall in the second round of action.

"Scotty 2 Hotty" played very well at the 2012 Grand Slam, beating the legendary Phil Taylor before falling in the quarterfinals to Michael van Gerwen. He's long overdue for a win at the World Championships.


Stephen Bunting (England)

The top overall seed in this year's World Championships (and in the world), it's hard not to root for Bunting seeing as his walk-up music is the theme from Family Guy.  

Eliminated in the quarterfinals last year, "The Bullet" hopes to continue the success he had in 2012 after winning both the Zulderduin Masters and World Masters tournaments.


Tony O'Shea (England)

Seeded fourth in the World Championships, the second-ranked player in the world has yet to win the World Championship, finishing as the runner-up both in 2009 and again in 2012.

"The Silverback," 51, is one of the oldest competitors at this year's tournament. Having reached the final match twice, you've got to like his chances of returning there for the third time in 2013. 


Christian Kist (Netherlands)

Amazingly, last year's World Champion is not seeded at this year's event, having taken much of the season off.

But "The Lipstick," ranked 37th in the world, is the reigning World Champion. Despite his layoff, there's no reason to think that he couldn't pull off the feat a second time.


Seeded Player (Country) Unseeded Player (Country) Date Time (ET)
No. 4 Irina Armstrong (Germany) Sharon Prins (Netherlands) Sunday, Jan. 6 12:30 p.m.
No. 1 Deta Hedman (England) Lisa Ashton (England) Saturday, Jan. 5 4:30 p.m.
No. 3 Julie Gore (Wales) Trina Gulliver (England) Monday, Jan. 7 12:30 p.m.
No. 2 Anastasia Dobromyslova (Russia) Lorraine Farlam (England) Sunday, Jan. 6 2:30 p.m.


Leading Women's Contenders

Deta Hedman (England)

The top-ranked women's player in the world, Hedman advanced to the final round of the 2012 World Championships and held a lead over Anastasia Dobromyslova before faltering in the end.

A seasoned veteran, betting against the "Dark Destroyer" will find you on the losing end of the equation more often than not.


Anastasia Dobromyslova (Russia)

Last year's winner, the two-time World Champion has a knack for falling behind early and going on a run to overtake her opposition.

Having competed against many of the other women in the field already, "From Russia With Love" finds herself in good shape to contend for her third World Championship crown.



I'm calling for rematches of last year's finals in both brackets, though with different results.

Tony O'Shea will finally get the World Championship that has eluded him for years, defeating Christian Kist, while Deta Hedman will take the lead against Anastasia Dobromyslova and keep it this time, winning her first BDO World Championship title.


Saturday, Jan. 5 Men's First Round: Five Sets (Three Matches) 8 a.m. (First Session)
  Women's Quarterfinals: Three Sets (Two Matches) 1 p.m. (Second Session)
Sunday, Jan. 6 Men's First Round: Five Sets (Three Matches) 8 a.m. (First Session)
  Women's Quarterfinals: Three Sets (Two Matches) 1 p.m. (Second Session)
Monday, Jan. 7 Men's First Round: Five Sets (Four Matches) 12:30 p.m.
  Women's Quarterfinals: Three Sets (One Match)  
Tuesday, Jan. 8 Men's Second Round: Seven Sets (Four Matches) 12:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Jan. 9 Men's Second Round: Seven Sets (Four Matches) 12:30 p.m.
Thursday, Jan. 10 Men's Quarterfinals: Nine Sets (Two Matches) 12:30 p.m.
  First Women's Semifinal: Three Sets (One Match)  
Friday, Jan. 11 Men's Quarterfinals: Nine Sets (Two Matches) 12:30 p.m.
  Second Women's Semifinal: Three Sets (One Match)  
Saturday, Jan. 12 First Men's Semifinal: 11 Sets (One Match) 9 a.m.
  Women's World Final: Three Sets (One Match)  
  Second Men's Semifinal: 11 Sets (One Match)  
Sunday, Jan. 13 Men's World Final: 13 Sets (One Match) 1 p.m.