Bayern Munich Goal Ruled Out Incorrectly in German Cup (Video)

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories

Goal-line technology can't arrive soon enough.

The latest victims were Bayern Munich, and the incident happened on Tuesday night in the German Cup.

Late in the first half, Bayern led hosts FC Augsburg 1-0. It should have been 2-0 by halftime, as 33-year-old midfielder Anatoliy Tymoshchuk cranked a pildriver over the line by way of the crossbar.

The officials did not see the ball cross the line, though, and it bounced away quickly. Augsburg goalkeeper Alex Manningerformer Gunner sighting!—then made a superb close-range stop before the ball slammed off the crossbar again.

Augsburg escaped further damage at the time, but Bayern Munich won the match 2-0 anyway (via Yahoo! Sports). The Bundesliga leaders now move on to the quarterfinals and maintain their dream of the domestic double.

Footage from the Tymoshchuk "non-goal" appears above. It serves as our Set Piece Video of the Day for this Wednesday. Enjoy and take a moment to see for yourself whether the ball crossed the line.

(Hint: It did.)

If you're unconvinced the ball crossed the line, 101 Great Goals has a definite screengrab of the decisive moment. Case closed, if you ask us.

Anyway, if you're sick of all the controversy over goal-line technology, take heart. Tymoshchuk's ruled-out goal wasn't the only excitement on offer on Tuesday night.

Wee Franck Ribery earned a red card early in the second half for engaging in handbags with Augsburg's Koo Ja-Cheol.

And yes, the GIF is as hilarious as it sounds.

(Video: 101 Great Goals)

 

Load More Stories

Follow FC Bayern Munich from B/R on Facebook

Follow FC Bayern Munich from B/R on Facebook and get the latest updates straight to your newsfeed!

Out of Bounds

FC Bayern Munich

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.