Johnny Manziel First Freshman to Win AP Player of the Year

Adam WellsFeatured ColumnistDecember 18, 2012

COLLEGE STATION, TX - NOVEMBER 24:  Texas A&M Aggies quarterback Johnny Manziel #2 works out during warmups prior to the start of the game against the Missouri Tigers at Kyle Field on November 24, 2012 in College Station, Texas.  (Photo by Scott Halleran/Getty Images)
Scott Halleran/Getty Images

Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel continues to add trophies to his seemingly never-ending collection, while simultaneously breaking barriers for future players, as he was named the 2012 Associated Press Player of the Year on Tuesday

In the 15-year history of the award, Manziel becomes the first freshman to win it. He is also the third quarterback to win the honor in as many years, joining Baylor's Robert Griffin III in 2011 and Auburn's Cam Newton in 2010. 

The awards just keep coming for Manziel, who also became the first freshman to win the Heisman Trophy earlier this month and the Davey O'Brien award as the nation's top quarterback. He beat out Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o for the honor. 

Manziel's debut season with the Aggies could not have gone much better. In addition to becoming a pop-culture sensation, inspiring haircuts and earning nicknames like "Johnny Football," he set an SEC record with 4,600 yards of total offense. He also had 43 total touchdowns. 

The Aggies finished the regular season with a 10-2 record, including a victory over BCS championship game participant Alabama, in a contest that really launched Manziel into the stratosphere of college football players. 

Manziel and Texas A&M were left out of the BCS despite finishing ninth in the standings because Alabama, Florida and Georgia, fellow SEC teams, were also ranked in the Top 10. He will close out his freshman season against Oklahoma on Jan. 4 in the Cotton Bowl. 

With all that he has accomplished this season, Manziel has a lot to live up to in 2013. For now, he can just bask in the glow of being the most decorated freshman in college football history.