Re-Ranking the NFL MVP Race as Adrian Peterson Continues Monster Season

« Prev
1 of 6
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Re-Ranking the NFL MVP Race as Adrian Peterson Continues Monster Season
Joe Robbins/Getty Images

Adrian Peterson is making a furious push towards Eric Dickerson's record of 2,105 rushing yards in a single season, and his efforts have us re-thinking the NFL's MVP race as the season nears its end.

Traditionally, quarterbacks win this award. 

In the past 10 years, quarterbacks have won eight times, while running backs have won twice—Shaun Alexander in 2005 and LaDainian Tomlinson in 2006.

When Alexander won it, he rushed for 1,880 yards and 27 touchdowns. He was never much of a pass-catching threat out of the backfield, and he only had 15 receptions for 78 yards and one touchdown in 2005. The league's best passers that season in terms of scoring were Carson Palmer and Peyton Manning, with 32 and 28 touchdowns, respectively.

When Tomlinson won it the next year, he rushed for 1,815 yards and 28 touchdowns. He also caught 56 passes for 508 yards and three touchdowns. Manning and Palmer were once again the top quarterbacks in terms of touchdowns, with 31 and 28, respectively.

To this point in 2012, Peterson has already rushed for 1,818 yards and 11 touchdowns. He, like Alexander before him, has never been a dangerous receiver out of the backfield, and he has caught 38 passes for just 211 yards and zero touchdowns so far this season. 

So, how does Peterson compare to the other players worthy of MVP consideration after Week 15?

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.