WWE Slammy Awards 2012: Who Should Be the Rightful Winners in Each Category?

Travis Wakeman@@traviswakeman10Correspondent IIDecember 16, 2012

WWE Slammy Awards 2012: Who Should Be the Rightful Winners in Each Category?

0 of 8

    The WWE Slammy awards return this Monday night, making for one of the most entertaining editions of Monday Night Raw each year.

    There will be a total of 20 awards handed out between the live show and WWE.com exclusives. For each award that will be handed out, fans are encouraged to go and vote for the winners.

    Below is a list of awards that will be handed out this year:

    WWE.com Exclusives

    Best Dancer of the Year

    Insult of the Year

    Tweet of the Year

    Top Social Media Ambassador

    YouTube Show of the Year

    Exclusive Video of the Year

    Facial Hair of the Year

    Crowd Chant of the Year

    Feat of Strength of the Year

    Diva of the Year

    Betrayal of the Year

    Upset of the Year


    Televised Awards

    Superstar of the Year
    Newcomer of the Year
    Trending Now Award – (Hashtag of the Year)
    Comeback of the Year
    Kiss of the Year
    "Tell me I did NOT just see that" – (The Most Shocking Moment of the Year)
    LOL Moment of the Year
    Match of the Year


    In this article, we will examine a few of these awards and determine who should be getting their name called on Monday night as the new owner of one of the trophies.

Betrayal of the Year

1 of 8

    This probably isn't an award that someone should be proud to win, but Eve probably would be.

    At WrestleMania 28, in a match that featured 12 superstars and had the fates of two men on the line, Eve was the deciding factor.

    As Zack Ryder got rolling in the 12-man tag team match billed as "Team Johnny vs. Team Teddy", Eve entered the ring and provided enough distraction for The Miz to snatch Ryder and put him away with the Skull Crushing Finale.

    Though first playing it off as a horrible mistake, Eve showed her true colors by kicking Ryder in the lower region following the match, leading Eve into the villainous role she played so well over the course of 2012.

Feat of Strength of the Year

2 of 8

    On the Oct. 1, 2012 edition of Monday Night Raw, United States champion Antonio Cesaro was faced with a formidable opponent in the form of Brodus Clay.

    Cesaro surprised many viewers by muscling the 6'7", 375-pound Clay up and dropping him with his Neutralizer finisher for the win.

    Cesaro has not only been a great United States champion, he is proving himself to be one of the strongest wrestlers on the roster, even if he doesn't look like it.

Diva of the Year

3 of 8

    While Eve has had a very good year, holding the Divas championship since mid-September, it is AJ Lee that has become the company's top diva.

    AJ has been used sparingly in the ring, but she has been embroiled in some of the major storylines this year, with the likes of Daniel Bryan, CM Punk and John Cena.

    AJ was given a run as general manager of RAW and that led to an intense rivalry with Vickie Guerrero. AJ has grown immensely as a performer and she gets a great reaction from the crowd, two things that will lead to even bigger things for her in 2013.

Newcomer of the Year

4 of 8

    Many people would probably be inclined to give this award to Ryback, and there is a very good chance he'll get it.

    Ryback had a tremendous winning streak and has entered the main event scene. But don't sell Antonio Cesaro short.

    Cesaro has brought an old-school feel back to the ring and captured the United States title, which he has held since August.

    It seems the company is beginning to groom Cesaro for bigger things and he could become a main-event level superstar in 2013.

    Besides, when you consider that Ryback once performed as Skip Sheffield in the Nexus, he's not much of a newcomer anyway.


    Honorable Mention: Damien Sandow

"Tell Me I Did NOT Just See That" (Shocker of the Year)

5 of 8

    Undefeated at the time, Ryback challenged CM Punk inside Hell in a Cell for the WWE Title.

    Many viewers likely figured that if WWE decided to keep the belt on Punk, he would have to get some sort of fluky victory. That's exactly what happened.

    With Punk set up for the "Shellshock," Ryback caught a low blow from the man serving as the referee, Brad Maddox.

    Shortly after, Maddox explained that his dream was always to be a WWE superstar, not a referee, and he saw a great way to make an impact by doing what he did.

    It's hard to decide what's more shocking. The fact that Ryback lost the match in the manner he did, or the person the WWE chose as the one to do it.

Comeback of the Year

6 of 8

    This one is easy. After the way he left WWE in 2004, is there anyone who actually thought Brock Lesnar would ever be seen in a WWE ring again? The night following WrestleMania 28, that's exactly what happened.

    In the ring discussing his defeat at the hands of The Rock the night before, John Cena asked for The Rock to come out to the ring. He instead got Lesnar and the arena in Miami that night erupted. He proceeded to lay Cena out with the F-5, something WWE fans hadn't seen in nearly eight years.

    Though the surprise had mostly been spoiled on the Internet, it was still an excellent moment, one of the best of 2012.

Match of the Year

7 of 8

    Billed as the End of an Era, this was a great match that told a great story.

    Triple H and The Undertaker had an excellent match at WrestleMania 27, but they managed to give the fans something even better at WrestleMania 28.

    With Shawn Michaels as the special guest referee, WWE did an amazing job at making it seem like this would be the year the streak finally came to an end, especially following the Sweet Chin Music superkick into the Pedigree.

    But Undertaker managed to do what he always does and went to a staggering 20-0 at WrestleMania, a feat fans will likely never see remotely approached again.

    Following the match, the three men walked away from the ring together, a picture that will stand in annals of WWE history for many years to come.

Superstar of the Year

8 of 8

    CM Punk has been the WWE champion for the entire calendar year, and then some. For that fact alone, he is the superstar of the year.

    But aside from that, Punk has fended off challenges from John Cena and Chris Jericho while also handing Ryback the first defeat of his career.

    Punk has held the title since November 2011, and his reign is the sixth longest in history.

    Punk should be a shoo-in for this award.