Plenty of Surprises As Marcello Lippi Names Italian Squad

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Plenty of Surprises As Marcello Lippi Names Italian Squad

Marcello Lippi has named his Italian squad for the upcoming 2010 World Cup Qualifiers to face Montenegro and former Italy coach Giovanni Trapattoni's Ireland.

World Cup winners Luca Toni, Alberto Gilardino Gennaro Gattuso, Mauro Camoranesi, and Simone Perrotta are all out of the matches with injuries along with defenders Daniele Bonera and Nicola Legrottaglie and Roma midfielder Alberto Aquilani.


Goalkeepers: Marco Amelia (Palermo), Gianluigi Buffon(Juventus), Morgan De Sanctis(Galatasaray)

Defenders: Salvatore Bocchetti (Genoa), Fabio Cannavaro (Real Madrid), Giorgio Chiellini(Juventus), Andrea Dossena (Liverpool), Alessandro Gamberini(Fiorentina), Fabio Grosso(Lyon), Marco Motta (Roma), Gianluca Zambrotta (Milan)

Midfielders: Matteo Brighi (Roma), Daniele De Rossi(Roma), Pasquale Foggia (Lazio), Riccardo Montolivo(Fiorentina), Angelo Palombo(Sampdoria), Andrea Pirlo (Milan)

Forwards: Antonio Di Natale (Udinese), Vincenzo Iaquinta(Juventus), Giampaolo Pazzini (Sampdoria), Simone Pepe(Udinese), Fabio Quagliarella (Udinese), Giuseppe Rossi (Villarreal).

The surprises in the squad list include Giampaolo Pazzini, who has been on-form ever since joining Sampdoria from Fiorentina.

Also, Salvatore Bocchetti makes his Italian national team debut, having only played for the Under 21 level. Marco Motta, on loan at Roma from Udinese, is also called for the first time.


Meanwhile other surprise faces include Lazio's Pasquale Foggia, Roma's Matteo Brighi as well as the returning Andrea Dossena, who has featured and shined for Liverpool in The Reds' demolition of Real Madrid, Manchester United, and Aston Villa.









Load More Stories

Out of Bounds

Serie A

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.